We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food and welcoming atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamas Meze and Tapas

Yamas Meze and Tapas
5 Thurland Street, Nottingham NG1 3DR , England
01159501000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,182 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always great food and welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Yammas is a regular venue for me and my friends to catch up over a long lunch and bottle of Retsina.
It is always a great experience. The food is consistently good, fresh and authentic. The owner and staff are really friendly, and have always been great at accommodating our babies who have sometimes come with us for lunch.
It is my favourite restaurant in Nottingham and I always feel like I'm on holiday when I'm in there.
Lovely!
NB the Frappes are also the best in town. Thankyou to the owners and staff for providing such a nice place to eat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    114
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just spent a lovely few hours at this little restaurant for a friend's birthday. Atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Service was slow but apparently some of the chefs were on holiday! Food was very nice - good sized portions for a tapas and very good value at just under £7 for three dishes on a weekday lunch time. Would recommend and would go back ( so long as notin a rush!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,UK.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Caution! Check Your Bill!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Most of us give a cursory glance, if at all, to the bill before plonking our card or cash on the plate for payment but here at Yamas, I would suggest that you scrutinise the list of items on it carefully in future! But more of that later!

Looking at a list of top 10 places to eat in Nottingham the other day, we came across Yamas, a Greek place that was rated no.6. Not having eaten Greek in years, we decided to give to give it a try and like an idiot and being in a hurry, I failed to check Trip Advisor feedback!

We had had a quick look at their online menu before setting off so we knew what to expect. Settling down at our table in a near empty restaurant, we perused the menu choosing five items - Lamb Shank, Chicken Souvlaki, Coriander Potatoes, Chips and Spanokapitta - spinach and feta cheese in filo pastry. Upon ordering we were told that the Lamb and the Chicken Souvlaki might take up to 30 mins as it was always freshly prepared. No problem. We started to wait patiently. Handily, as it turned out we had retained one of the menus to read to pass the time until the food came.

The thirty minutes came and went and still no food appeared. The clock ticked away 35mins....40mins.....45mins.....nothing. We asked if it would appear soon and low and behold, a few minutes later it made it`s debut! Nearly 50 minutes!

Now I wish that I could say that the food was well worth the wait but unfortunately not.

The lamb shank seemed to have been steamed or pressure cooked then drizzled with a bit of oil - no sauce or any gravy to accompany it. Tender but tasteless. The Chicken Souvlaki was dry and also tasteless, all trace of moisture in it having been burned off. The chips were also lacking in moisture as opposed to the coriander potatoes which were also unsurprisingly tastleless and soggy. The spanokapitta was not a saving grace to this ensemble being equally without flavour.

All in all, very disappointing and not to be recommended. Cutting our losses we decided to pay and leave. And then the bill.....Had a glance at the total and just happened to notice that the chips had been charged more for than on the menu. Examining the other items, one or two more were definitely charged more than the price on the menu. We picked up the menu we had retained to read whilst waiting and discovered that three out of the five items ordered had been overcharged! Not by much, by 10p, 20p and 60p respectively.

Called the waitress over and she did seem genuinely shocked by the overcharging. The owner came over and made a few grunting sounds, picking up the bill, staring at it and returning to his cash register. The waitress brought it back shortly with it manually amended, knocking off over £5! She said that maybe the menu was an old one with old prices. Well if it was an old one then their online menu is obviously the old one as well with the same prices as the menu we were given on entering. Maybe the unfortunate waitress was told off later by allowing us to keep a menu?

So let this be a lesson to us all. Check your bill carefully when you go. This can`t be the only case of overcharging at this restaurant as the cash register only printed off the overcharged prices that it had been fed with! And other restaurants have added things to our bill that we never had so might it might be a common practice?

We will never go back nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked a table just to be on the safe side and I am glad that i did. From the moment we arrived, the restaurant was quite full, and there was a constant stream of people coming in to eat. When we left at 8.30 people were queuing up on the street.
Great food and excellent service, we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 8.30 on a Saturday night to find Yamas packed, we took this as a good sign and were pleased to have booked following previous reviews on this site. Unfortunately the food was rather ordinary demonstrating no particular skill or flair. The lamb shank was good but the souvlaki was overcooked and dry, from a total of 9 dishes ordered one was forgotten and then turned up charred.... Service was cheerful but had clearly had a long day.
I really don't understand the previous rave reviews and full to bursting restaurent and was more than a little disappointed by Yamas, we won't be returning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamas Meze and Tapas also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Yamas Meze and Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamas Meze and Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.