We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poo in a cup? Cold water!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stage Hotel to your Saves list
Stage Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Gregory Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 6LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poo in a cup? Cold water!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Me and 8 friends stayed here and we have stayed in some dire places before but this is up there with the worst, after walking into a smelly room and a worse smelling bathroom we found no hot water, and on that night found poo in a cup outside our door, cleaner seen this and next day found it two doors along on a cabinet, breakfast was ok but rest was shocking!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    21
    24
    98
See reviews for
15
24
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Absolutely disgusting hotel inside and out. Stained blood on the carpets, filthy beds, mouldy bathrooms, sewage smell and dirty curtains to name a few! Friends bed wasn't actually a bed-just mattress upon mattress upon mattress! Did not sleep in the covers, slept on top in my clothes! Didn't even want a shower, afraid to catch something! Still feel riffy today after my stay last night! Do not entertain the thought of booking a room here!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and 3 friends went, 2 to each room. The other 2 had a hot shower and a SEMI clean room, my room on the other hand was horrible, walls as thin as paper, a FREEZING cold shower, and alot of mould in the bathroom. If you are going to Notthingham then look elsewhere,

Room Tip: If you want a good room...... dont stay here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Queensland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have just attempted to telephone the hotel to make a reservation on each occasion, my call was answered and immediately placed on hold without so much as a welcome message and request to hold.

When I finally managed to get through, I am convinced I had awoken the telephonist/receptionist (male) from an afternoon nap. His tone was that of someone who was totally bored with their job and in need of thorough retraining on his telephone skills and manners.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my dog let alone friends and family who were looking forward to trying out the "Under New Management" statement.

If it were possible, I would have given a rating in the negative range. I don't imagine it will be too long before the hotel is once again up for sale and again under new and hopefully more professional management!!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Oh dear.

I guess you get what you pay for. £44 for two in what is allegedly a double room. I'm not particularly fussy when it comes to cheap rooms, after all its just somewhere to sleep. That's an issue. The bed was so uncomfortable. It was very difficult to get to sleep. Apparently there were no spare rooms as there was a party going on. The room was tiny, with nowhere to hang clothes. The drawers were filthy inside and were held together with selotape. The tap in the bathroom was loose and could be picked up! The vent in the bathroom was so covered in dust, it can't have been extracting anything. There were stains on the wall which i really do not want to guess at the origins of!

Photos will follow.

If staying at the front of the hotel, be prepared for a lot of traffic noise. At the back of the hotel, you'll be able to entertain yourselves by watching the large rats run around. The windows are all single glazed, and are badly fitting. There is a constant draft.

Breakfast....... Served in the 'refurbished' function room. Damp toast, poor quality cereals and bacon. The sausages were flavourd with cardboard. For the money paid, you don't expect much, but if i were you, find a McDonalds and get something there, if only to avoid food poisoning!

The hotel is relatively close to the centre of Nottingham, but is also in a less than respectable area. The side streets across and nearby should really be bathed in a red light during the hours of darkness!!!

Please, pay a bit more and get somewhere much more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here 1 night expecting the worst. Not quite as bad as I expected but not particularly good.
The room was spacious with a small double bed. Smaller than my own double at home. The net curtains were overdue for a wash. Unless they were supposed to be dark grey at the top and grey at the bottom. The shower was adequate and the water was hot.
When we arrived we did get an apology for any disturbance we might experience as there was a large party going on that night.
Our room was above the front door and so till 4.30 in the morning people from the party stood to have a smoke and a rather loud chat and laugh.
Once that had subsided and everyone was heading to their rooms it all started up again in the passages throughout the hotel.
Finally got to sleep and woken again at 7.30 with someone's TV through the paper thin wall.
Breakfast was ok till it came to the cooked part. Everything was ok if not very hot untill the fried egg was tried.
Very small egg that was so over fried it was rigid. Toast was laid on a large tray and the steam had made the slices soft and the 2 half slices I picked up were black one side.
This hotel is in an ideal location for getting into the centre either walking or by using the tram. Although if you are over 60 with a bus pass be prepared for the conductor to refuse to accept. I used mine twice and got accepted but the third time got told as its a private bus company they don't accept the passes.
Below says 5 rooms but there are more like 50+
Great place to eat is Copaccios on Upper Parliament Street. Italian, Mexican and Spanish. Friendly owner, great food and plenty of it at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We visited the Stage Hotel Nottingham in September 2012 with low expectations having read a number of bad reviews, however, we choose this hotel based on the free car parking facilities and central location. We did shopping in the day and had tickets for a show at the Capital FM Arena in the evening- which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel- so location-wise the hotel is good. We arrived at 9am but the hotel allowed me to park my car in the car park and come back to check-in later which again I was happy with.
The Stage itself is a pretty old looking (and slightly run down in areas), it does have a very large bar area with big TVs for sports fans. Hotel staff were friendly enough and arranged extra towels for me (as we only had one in our room for 2 people!). The room again was very old looking not good- but not terrible. A few tiles were missing in the bathroom and there were lots of stains on the carpets! In addition we did have a small flat screen TV and the room was of reasonable size with plenty of cupboard and storage space. As far as I could see things were reasonably clean, however, the general poor up -keep was somewhat off putting!
Breakfast consisted of a choice of cereals, toast and some (rather greecey) cooked food including bacon, eggs, hash browns (which were good), sausage and beans. It was all you can eat and was all kept very warm so again hard to complain too much. Again though, the school dinner feel of the cuisine and the general old fashioned feel of the room did put you off your food somewhat.
To summarise, this was a cheap room so as good as can be expected. With a lick of paint and a bit of a refurbish this hotel could actually be quite good. It has a good location and overlooks a huge recreation ground, just a shame some of the hotel doesn’t have quite as good scenery once you’re inside. If you are after a budget hotel with city centre access or somewhere to lay your head on a night out with friends or hen/ stag do it’s definitely worth considering as long as you don’t expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Hotel

Address: 1-5 Gregory Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 6LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Stage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stage Hotel Nottingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.