We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite walks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinder Scout

Kinder Scout
Peak District National Park, England
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my favourite walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I absolutely loved this walk. Starting at Edale, there was plenty of parking at a decent price. While the majority of the path is paved or worn dirt tracks up to the plateau, it is important to bring a map. There is limited signage and parts of the top of the plateau is a maze of paths littered through a peat bog. I wouldn't recommend navigating the bogs during or just after wet weather as it seems quite easy to start sinking into them.
The views along the whole walk were breath taking, and the higher you get, the better they become. There are some steep parts of the walk, but these are relatively short, such as Jacobs ladder.
The western edge of the plateau gives fantastic views towards Manchester on very clear days and views over a lovely reservoir. If you have the time, a trip a mile or so north takes you to kinder falls, a lovely waterfall, that if the wind is strong enough, is blown upwards as opposed to flowing downwards. The plateau is littered with curiously shaped rocks worn down by wind erosion. While warm clothing is important due to the wind chill, it is easy to burn on sunny days.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We did this walk from Edale going up Grindsbrook. It followed the stream most of the way. The last part looked daunting but we quickly made our ascent clambering over the stable rocks.We went on a beautiful clear day and the views were amazing both on the way up and from the top.
We decided to make our return journey the same way down as the time on our car parking ticket was tight and we could not risk an alternative route which would have been nice.
Just a shame about carparking costs in Edale - 2-4 hours was £3

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice walk, avoid the bog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The walk up to the top gives you views which gradually becomes more beautiful as you get higher. Although this is the highest part of the Peak District, the walk is not too steep. There are lots of streams and waterfalls on the way up which adds to the beauty of the walk. Once at the top there are lovely views of the peaks, although all that can be seen is lots of hills. Along the main path there are lots of rocks in strange formations which must have very interesting geology.

My one piece of advice would be to avoid reaching the peak, as it is very boggy and the footpath seems to disappear.

Overall, a very nice walk.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a beautiful place! I have spent hours on the plateau and walking up to it. I find that the walk from the main road (crossed by the Pennine Way) is the easiest ascent with Grindsbrook being the hardest. The path up from the old quarry is somewhere in between - depending on whether you go via Tunstead Farm or past the reservoir - the latter being the harder one.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's not the destination, it's the ascent and descent that are such fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I've always had a soft spot for Kinder Scout since walking holidays as a teenager. I note a great deal of reviews suggesting it's a disappointing peat bog when you get there. That's not the case. Best route I always think is to go up from Edale station, via Grindsbrook Clough, then the easiest way back is to walk due West and enjoy views from Crowden Tower, and then marvel at the Woolpacks, keep heading West to Noe Stool, and then back via Swines Back, and turn back to return via Jacobs Ladder. The easy lower level route to the station is a tonic. Pint in The Rambler to finish. Perfect.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinder Scout also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Kinder Scout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinder Scout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.