We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanshope Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stanshope Hall to your Saves list
Stanshope Hall
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stanshope, Peak District National Park DE6 2AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing to get away from it all and this was the perfect place. We cycled the Tissington Trail and Carsington Water and wanted to stay somewhere nearby and Stanshope Hall was a great location for our needs. There is only really one pub near enough to walk to, 'The Watts Russell". The George is only a 5 minute drive away and serves great food.Tea and homemade cake were served on arrival in the beautiful sitting room by the open fire. The bedroom was large with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. The bathroom was lovely and there was lashings of hot water. There are only three rooms and we stayed in the superior room which was very good value. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room which was roomy with a lovely bathroom. There were three windows, gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The building, room and surroundings are excellent.

Whilst licensed, according to it's information, obtaining a bottle of wine is much more difficult! Needs an honesty bar or equivalent as I suspect the hosts are not really on hand in the evening. Onset of the desire for alcohol is not entirely predictable.

The breakfast was a little disappointing with a variable number of rashers of bacon inter alia.

Eating and drinking can be done at the " Interesting " Watts Russell pub down the road, not to be missed, with good beer, about 12 minutes brisk walk, or the Observer rated pub the George in Alstonfield, I.5 miles which is a little far to walk.

For those who like a pub crawl walking from the hotel, to Whetton, Royal Oak, then Hulme end, the Manifold inn, Hartington, the Charles Cotton + good local cheese shop, Alstonfield, the George and finally the Watts Russell. The walk probably expends more calories than a pint in each.

Simon Hanley
07828417512

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a really good time. The people at the hall were very friendly and helpful. My partner really liked the breakfast and thought the service was very good. The room was very warm and cosy.

We left some clothes behind but the owner sent them to us with no additional cost, despite us volunteering to pay. This was very nice of them and we were very grateful.

Furthermore, it is in a good location for great walks.

Highly recommended and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Hants
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 whole nights here in glorious peace and quiet - our 3rd time I think. Lovely tray of tea and cake by the fire upon arrival provided by Naomi the owner. Breakfasts excellent, particularly when Lynne or Alison are on duty. In fact, I would go so far as to say they are the warm heart of this lovely old house! The setting is totally magical and we hope to be back in 2014.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wish we had been able to stay longer than just one night. It was a lovely place to relax after a day of cycling. Enjoyed tea & cake in the drawing room & walked to a local pub for delicious evening meal. Hope to revisit

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend on a walking holiday and were delighted with our choice.
A lovely warm welcome from the host Naomi and beautiful rooms with everything you could need.
We were served tea and cake in the drawing room and went for some lovely walks in the area in Dovedale. The beds were extremely comfortable, which is everything you dream of after all that walking!
The breakfast hosts were lovely and the food was outstanding too, and to top it all off, we were able to purchase some marmalade and honey, which they sell here which is made in the local area.
All in all, a perfect weekend for my partner and I, we shall most definitely be returning and encouraging everyone we know to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A lovely old house, tastefully refurbished with antique furniture and a cosy sitting room for rainy days. Warm welcome, and just the right balance between being fussed-over and left in peace. Very pretty garden, great walks straight from the door, and the best breakfast I've had. Warning - the haddock portions are gigantic!
Do bring a good map, as the wifi is not very reliable and parts of the Dove Valley have no mobile phone coverage. It is easy to get away from the crowds in Milldale and Thor cave - there are plenty of other beautiful places close by if you are prepared to walk a bit, and leave the main riverside track. We hired bikes at Waterhouses and cycled up the Manifold Trail to Hulme End (about 9 miles each way). Beautiful, but very sore bum next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanshope Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanshope Hall

Address: Stanshope, Peak District National Park DE6 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Peak District National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanshope Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Stanshope Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanshope Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.