We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deferrers review - September Self Catering Deferrers @ Harthill Hall ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Alport | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deferrers review - September Self Catering Deferrers @ Harthill Hall ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Read the reviews after we had booked, typical. However, in hindsight I am pleased we didn’t!
It was a nice surprise to have a starter pack, including; toilet rolls, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, and toiletries. Not enough for the whole stay but we didn't expect any so a bonus.
Bedrooms had clean cotton linen, bathrobes and slippers and even towels for the hot tub.
Pool was good although we didn't use it much.
Position is beautiful and the view from the hot tub was just fab.
Bakewell is a nice market town just 5 minutes by car LOTS of pubs

No real cleanliness issues, overall a good experience and would not deter.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    14
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We loved the manor house. The bedrooms were all well proportioned and the main room was stunning. (I could not get hot water from the shower but it was probably me) when we arrived the owner had left a big cake (I was celebrating my 40th) what a nice surprise and it was appreciated by all my friends that we're enjoying the occasion with us. The manor house has lovely open fires and a great kitchen where you can all eat round a huge table. There were fourteen of us and we still fitted comfortably. In respect of the fires we did not have any wood, but upon asking the owner we were presented with two bags that they did not charge us for. The location is lovely, with a great view, and is only about a hours walk from Bakewell which was ideal for us. The manor house had a games rooms and a hot tub. The latter was well used by all the occupants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place is great. Very olde worldy. Flag stone floors downstairs and floor boards upstairs. Well maintianed, clean comofrtable and great rustic old furniture. Four poster bed gives you a great nights sleep. Its a bit dark inside as the windows are small and the walls very thick as you would expect with an older style grand house and the lighting is a bitlimited in some areas. Hot tub at the back door is very secluded and screened off from the other properties so it was used a few times during our weeks stay. On site staff are are very helpfull and act very quickly to resolve any problems that might occur. The only problem we had was with a back door lock and a noisey tap. Job done and fixed same day.
Beware weeends though..... can be a bit boisterous.... as its Hen party central... and why not as the facilites on site are made for that kind of a weekend getaway

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom one bathroom Harthill at Harthill Hall. We had a lovely time. The place was cosy and warm and relaxing. The location is perfect for accessing all the joys of the Peak District. The manager was very friendly and helpful and really went out of her way to make us welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Barn at Harthill Hall (August 2013). We chose it, because there were 10 of us altogether (children and adults). We found that the cottage was in a superb location and the view from the sitting room with the lovely framed window was amazing. The sitting room is the best part of the cottage. The Barn is a 2-level property. Most bedrooms are downstairs at ground level with the sitting room and open-plan kitchen area and 2 bedrooms above. If you have toddlers (2 - 4 years) you may want to ask for a picture of the staircase. It is a steep spiral staircase - lovely, but not safe for tots. Kitchen: seemed fine, but upon closer inspection not much space to prepare food if cooking for a large group of people. Excellent stove and oven - very clean. Toaster fine. Kettle was fine, but very big and heavy and was situated on the only bit of counter-top useful for preparing food. Annoying. In terms of crockery - no plastic cups/plates for children were supplied so take your own. There were 4 cereal bowls. In addition, there were some other very shallow bowls (of the variety typically found at self-catering places, which are pretty useless). Plenty of plates, cups and glasses. Cafetiere and tea-pot supplied. Plenty cutlery. We found one small knife sharp enough to be useful for chopping. Tiny microwave oven. Although there were some oven-proof dishes, NONE had lids. We had to go and buy a new pyrex dish. They didn’t supply any oven gloves (for hygiene reasons we were told) so we had to go and buy those, too. There were heat-proof yellow squares which were apparently meant to be used instead of oven gloves. There were 2 fridges – one is a fridge-freezer situated on the ground level. The fridge in the kitchen was a small one fitted under the counter. Both fridges were spacious, but too cold, as they froze all our fruit; we couldn’t adjust the temperature. The dishwasher was the usual strange brand no-one ever heard of before. We got the dishes clean by using the highest setting and rinsing the plates thoroughly before-hand. The top shelf in the dishwasher had a bit missing off the front of the drawer, which meant there was a risk of pulling it straight off the runners as there was nothing to stop it on the one side. Seating for meals – one very long table with a long bench on either side. Seemed like a great idea, until we tried to prepare food and sit down at it. Once one person was behind the long bench on the kitchen side of the table anyone else also behind the bench trying to help with the food just got in the way. Bedrooms – all bedrooms are en suite (shower, basin, toilet). The bedding was clean, the duvets and pillows were ok. Mattresses comfortable. Storage space in the bedrooms was quite poor. Worst storage was in room 6 where there was a sofa bed in addition to the double-bed. It is regrettable that they did not use the space to install a wardrobe/chest of drawers instead. Toiletries were supplied (shampoo, shower gel and moisturiser). All towels for use in the cottage and for the pool were supplied. Robes were also supplied; these were multi-coloured stripey things that looked a bit tired (not ‘white and fluffy’ as expected!). The upstairs bedrooms are both really nice, with lovely views. The downstairs bedrooms less so. They face the courtyard and the windows are tall, which is great when the shutters are open, but people walking past could see right into our rooms. For privacy we had to close the shutters and put on the lights instead. It felt like being in a cave rather than a room. The lights were too dim and the carpets were a dark colour so it was difficult to see at times. Room 6 at the far end of the corridor was dark and quite damp. It didn’t seem to improve even with the heating turned on. The en suite in this room was OK, but the toilet was shoe-horned in so to use the toilet paper one had to do a 90 degree turn to reach it on the holder. In general the showers were really nice with good pressure, but only 2 people could shower at the same time. The games room was great and one could log onto their free wifi which was a great plus point. The connection speed was good. There is also a communal games room and an area for the children to play. We had access to the hot tub, but we didn't use it. There is a pool, but it is quite small and one depth all the way along. Be sure to take flotation devices for non-swimmers. Parking was adequate. Cleaning and maintenance service - the cleaning team were very good – if we brought a problem to their attention they did their best to sort it out. I would recommend staying at Harthill Hall, if you are a party of 10 – 12 and you plan to spend most of your time outdoors. There are some great places very close by. We would definitely want to go back (although we’ll be taking a few extras this time!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in the Defferers within Harthill Hall which is a 4 bed. The whole cottage was damp (we stayed in August 2013), and there was mould on the bathrooms walls and ceilings. The smell in the downstairs bathroom was particularly bad and you could smell the damp in the bedrooms. All our bedding was damp. Even with the heating on full power and the windows open it didn't dry out. We asked for another toilet roll and some more dishwasher tablets but we were told it was self catering and one toilet roll and 5 dishwasher tablets was all we were going to get. So if it is self catering why was there no washing machine? With 4 children this was a must especially when the service wash (which costs £10) never happened. Good location but over priced, damp and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peak District National Park hotels

South Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the cottage called Defferers within Harthill Hall. It was a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a large lounge and kitchen and a hot tub outside. We rented it as a relaxed, quiet hen do but them brought our kids on the last night and it was very suitable for all purposes. The cottage (Defferers) was lovely. 3 bedrooms upstairs, 1 bathroom. 1,4 four poster double bedroom downstairs and a shower/bathroom. Kitchen was fully equipped and when we struggled with using the oven the housekeeper was there in minutes to help us. Really helpful staff when we needed travel cot/high chair etc.. Hot tub was the highlight for us, beautiful views over the hills from the hot tub. We used the small leisure pool with the kids which was nice. Some girls had beauty treatments done on-site and they all enjoyed them. I would really recommend this place for a girls weekend or a family do. We self catered and just took all of our own food but we also went to a great pub 2 miles away (The Druid Inn) which was fabulous gastro pub food. I would recommend booking taxis in advance. We used Roys minibus taxi (which the place sends you info out about anyway) but failed to book a trip back and there aren;t many local taxis but the lovely landlord drove my 2 pregnant friends back for us and the rest of us walked the food off (not a walk for kids though as no paths). I would go back here for sure with my friends or family. The only tiny, tiny downside was just the 1 shower (not very powerful) which with 8 ladies was time consuming but as I say nothing to complain about. If you go in the warm weather take some fly killer as we didn't and got bit a-lot by midges in the night around the hot tub. Fab place for a little break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages

Address: Alport | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Peak District National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages Hotel Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.