We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but the place needs some money spent on it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Alport | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
lancaster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location but the place needs some money spent on it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

These buildings are very handsome and are in a lovely location, however we stayed in one of the barn conversions and felt that it was overpriced and a bit tatty, there was evidence of wear and poor repairs-dishwasher, etc. In order to justify the price, the place could do with a make over, perhaps the conversion was done a good few years ago. 2nd double bedroom was very small and cramped, almost claustrophobic, as was 2nd bathroom. Hot tub was fun, swimming pool tatty[rotten window frames, pool cover tatty and dirty] and very small and the sauna didn't really work, wasn't hot enough.
We were shouted at by one of the owners-"Get away from our drive way!!' when we were merely passing with our dog on a lead. Very imperious, seem to forget that we were paying guests with a right to be where we were. However the staff were helpful and pleasant. Maybe the other properties are better than Cockanynes, we also booked quite late and so were limited on choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, as the owner a just wanted to confirm that we really do value your custom and would not be so rude we think you may have walked passed our neighbours gateway, sorry about that, the layout of the buildings we can do little about due to being in the National Park, the swimming pool and changing rooms have been completely refurbished, the pool cover wears rather quickly but and appears dirty but isn't, the sauna has been checked and is working correctly, the instructions for use are just in the doorway and also the lead guest is always explained how best to operate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    14
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked via LateRooms. Drove for 3 hours in the pouring rainlooking forward to the week-end. Wanted it to be lovely. Horrid place;notes all over the place dont do this and dont do that a faulty towers feel. We were allocated Manners. I agree with all the other comments on this. It was dark,very poorly lit and very poorly furbished. I live in a older property so can accept the lack of perfection. But this is a grubby little place and the office is a gypsy wagon and sums up the entire feel of the place. We left soon after arrival and did recieve our money back but the owner was angry BUT I had no intention of paying to stay in a dump. We got back in our car and drove home in the pouring rain; it it had been even moderately acceptable we would have stayed. Dont stay here its an overpriced grubby little place.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Unfortunately we were unable to lay on better weather this guest did not check in and was given a full refund as they were clearly not happy and were most rude about the property to our hard working staff, the property in question Manners is the very same one reviewed on the 21st December “Had a great time in manners” please read both reviews to make an informed decision.
The client in question never met the owners only the manager and housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peak District National Park hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked the Barn as the website made it look great and we were not disappointed, the outdoor hot tub was much appreciated, we were hoping for a quiet relaxing get together and was concerned about noise from the other properties onsite but it was perfect the only noise was our own, One DIY meal was achieved thanks to Lucy the Domestic queen who didn’t even use the hostess trolley (didn’t know they still made them!).

The Barn is quite modern which I personally like some of the other girls would have preferred The Manor House after Chris and Gina (the managers) giving us a full guided tour, It looked a bit spooky for me. Saturday Morning our toaster didn’t seem to work a quick call and we were provided with a brand new one, great service provided by a really nice couple.



Pool, Sauna and Treatments were very nice especially enjoyed the private use, much nicer than swimming with strangers.



Saturday night the caterers came in and cooked up a fantastic 3 course meal which was beautifully served, they did all the washing up and left the kitchen ready for Sunday morning.



Bakewell is very pretty with lit Christmas trees, and it has lots of pubs !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for this review of the Barn, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to another visit in the future, your review could not be further from
'A colossal rip-off. If we could give this a zero 18th February'
who stayed in the same property the Barn just after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

For the first time in over 30 years we had the entire family together for Christmas. We spent 3 nights at this dump staying in The Barn facility which was advertised as "the perfect place for a family reunion or wedding and able to accommodate 12 or more comfortably" -- WHAT A JOKE!

The facilities were less than acceptable and the customer service was even more atrocious. These include the following shortcomings....
1) the kitchen appliances didn't work - dishwasher couldn't even clean the dishes and the staff accused us of overloading.
2) the kitchen was small and could not accommodate a family of 12 let alone a family of 6.
3) the oven was old and all the instructions on the dial had worn off rendering cooking a christmas meal next to impossible
4) the walls in the rooms were paper thin, you could hear EVERYTHING coming from the other rooms. The rooms also were gloomy and dark.
5) the closets and baths in the rooms were of low/no standard.
6) the entry way smelled of mildew due to the downstairs refrigerator unit had leaked prior to our visit
7) the refrigerator downstairs had no shelving rendering food storage impossible
8) the bedding in the rooms was cheap and uncomfortable

When these shortcomings were pointed out during and after our stay the staff was less than helpful. In fact they were surly and completely unaccommodating. For the amount of money we paid for this dump you would think the accommodations, staff, and experience would have been more pleasant. But it was not.

Warning, this place is a rip-off of extreme proportions. Can't speak to the other cottages at this facilities, but The Barn is a dump.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. The walls are paper thin, dark and gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
We are not surprised to have received this review as although this customer/party's only complaint onsite was the dishwasher not working which was in fact as pointed out by our housekeeper at 8pm christmas eve just simply overloaded with dishes plates and glasses used in the kitchen appliances that didn't work ! having stayed for he entire let, they have since requested a refund that we have refused, please see also reviews
“Brill Girly Weekend in the Barn –December 2011”
“THE PLACE IS ABSOLUTLY AMAZING...”
Reviewed 30 July 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

We are 2 couples that have recently enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay in Manners. We had initially told Chris the manager that we would be arriving early evening but unforeseen circumstances meant that we didn't arrive until about midnight. Chris had been coming to the cottage regularly throughout the night to trigger the heating (which is on a sensor) to ensure it was warm for our arrival. So our first impressions were of a lovely warm cosy cottage!! Great cottage decorated in antique rustic style and the goodies left for us went down a treat! Prime location for exploring the peak district and we all said we would definitely return! thanks Chris you made us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, all our staff work really hard to make your stay perfect in every way and they are so delighted to have received your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have just come back from spending a romantic weekend in Henry's Haunt. What a wonderful location. Our cottage looked out over the fields and we spent many an hour in our private hot tub in the garden.
The accomodation was superb. The kitchenette had all the equipment needed for short break.
Towels were provided for the pool, which you could book out privately for an hours use for each day of your stay. We went in there later in the day and it wasn't very warm but we were advised that its warmer in the morning.
I would recommend using the Indian that is listed in the welcome information. Can't remember the name of it but probably the best I have eaten in a long time and they deliver too.
The only thing was the bed (which had a date engraved on it from the 1600's)dipped in the middle but this is only a little thing.
I would definatley recommend this and will be visiting again (Maybe when its a little warmer though!!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we have taken on your comment and the mattress has been replaced, our team work really hard to make your stay perfect in every way and they are so delighted to have received your positive review, we do read them along with our comment forms and always try our very hardest to correct any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

A lovely cottage in a stunning location.
We stayed in Defferres which was a fantastic cottage. There were 10 of us and the layout of the cottage is good, so you can all sit together for meals and chilling and yet you dont feel on top of each other, it was great. THe house is well equiped and we had everything we wanted, towels, bath robes and slippers
The use of the shared swimming pool and sauna was a really great touch and we made full use of all the facilities. The hot tub was lovely and clean and hot and just outside the door so not far to walk, but this is where my one and only slightly negative comment is, the cottage is for 8-10 people but the hot tub is for 4 so we had to go in in shifts whereas we would have liked to have gone in together. THis did not detract in any way from the lovely time we had.
The Cottage was clean, the beds were comfortable and the hosts could not have been more helpful and friendly.
We are looking to book again and will definately be back
thanks for a fab weekend x

Room Tip: there are two double and two twin rooms, and a sofabed for twon in the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in Deferrers cottage, all our staff work really hard to make your stay perfect in every way and they are so delighted to have received your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages

Address: Alport | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Peak District National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages Hotel Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.