We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Hall Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Hall Inn to your Saves list
Old Hall Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Whitehough, Chinley, Peak District National Park SK23 6EJ, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently stayed here for the first time and was pleasantly surprised by the Old Hall Inn. This has the three things that you need; good room, good food and GOOD BEER!!!!

There is a food menu and also a beer menu. This is required because of all of the varieties of beer available, from micro-brewery ale to weird Belgium fruit-based lagers.

The room was really comfortable (in their neighboring Inn just up the road) with good facilities. The food was simple but really tasty. The Steak and Ale pudding could render you incapable of movement for 30 minutes!

Whilst at dinner we overheard a conversation on another table that suggested that the couple seated near to us had missed their train home. They weren't complaining. That summed up what was a wonderful stay here.

Room Tip: Three words: Sticky. Toffee. Pudding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Lucky for us, we often get asked at the bar for later train times! Delighted you enjoyed your stay.
dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    28
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
101
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Old Hall dates back to the 15th Century and has been in the present family for several generations. It has a great variety of beers, including locally brewed ones. The beer festival has an amazing number of beers to sample. The menu is simple, but the food is ample in size and delicious, together with a good wine list to choose from. The larger room has a musicians gallery, which is also used for dining. Try it soon. This is my local, so we go frequently and this review covers many visits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are blessed with an amazing regular trade all year round. Its the warm welcome from our friendly locals that our guests often comment on and it is especially gratifying to receive reviews from our regular customers. Thanks. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Old Hall Inn to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday. Our room was lovely, well furnished and clean with really nice toiletries. We ate in the bar and can't fault the food. We would definitely recommend this excellent inn in a beautiful setting. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we see you again soon. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights last week and was very impressed. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities. We had a lovely view from our room (Number 1). The cooked breakfasts were great - good quality ingredients and there was a good selection of light options eg cereals, yoghurts, fruit salad, croissants. The pub itself has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are fantastic - really friendly and attentive. We ate in the bar every evening as the food and service was very good. Many thanks to you all for making our stay so enjoyable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Old Hall Inn this weekend. The Old Hall is cosy and romantic and full of character. The room was quiet and clean. I liked the toiletries. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good. The Old Hall is in a great location with lots of good local walks and an easy drive to Buxton and Bakewell.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to a return visit maybe at festival time.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which was the cheapest double room. It was not massive but more than adequate an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for using the Old Hall to base your exploration of the Peak District. We hope you will return to see us again soon.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the Peak District and we chose the Old Hall Inn after having read previous Trip Advisor reviews.
On arrival we were shown to our room in the Papermill Inn- which met our requirements in terms of cleanliness and decor.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was of a very good standard. The atmosphere was excellent on both nights as this is a very popular eating & drinking establishment. The young waitresses all worked tirelessly and professionally and deserve ' gold stars' for their customer care!
Breakfast was excellent with a choice of cereals, fruit salad, yoghurts, croissants and cooked breakfast! Couldn't fault it.
If I was to be critical it did get slightly noisy in the bar area prior to closing, which meant no early nights, but at the end of the day this is to be expected in a popular pub! You can't have it all, and we certainly enjoyed a few chats with the friendly locals ( and their dogs!)
All in all an excellent place to stay in a beautiful part of the country! Will definitely consider a return visit and would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing our Inn's. We are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to the High Peak, and hope you will call on us again on your next visit.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed one night before going to visit Chatsworth House the next day.Arrived to find a very busy pub and busier car park.Was quickly attended to and shown to our room over the road in the Paper Mill.The room was superb with a bathroom to match.(some really nice finishing touches)
We had booked a table at the old hall and I had pre-ordered the steak/ale pudding which was worth the visit alone although I was very disappointed with the chips not what I expected at all.
If I have one criticism it would be that the meal seemed to be hurried along with no time in between courses
The treat continued next morning with a cooked to order breakfast as well as cereals croissants toast/jam and plenty of hot coffee.Before we left we managed to do one of the short walks along to the canal with the aid of map but alas no directions supplied at the bar.
We will return for a longer stay and take in some more of the suggested walks or do a little exploring in a delightful part of the country.Once again many thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit. As a busy restaurant we have had to become pretty efficient at getting food out quickly, and have quite a few chefs on for each service. We would be only to happy however to accommodate any breaks between course if requested. Most of our customers settle in for the night, so we certainly don't want anyone to feel rushed.

We have a available at the bar, a selection of maps with routes marked out on them for local walks. These can also be found online at www.papermillinn.co.uk

Best Regards
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn

Address: Whitehough, Chinley, Peak District National Park SK23 6EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Peak District National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Hall Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There can be few places more quintessentially English than a country inn and in this area none more so than the Old Hall Inn. Voted Derbyshire Pub of the Year & and winner of Best Cask Pub in the East Midlands at the Great British Pub Awards, it positively exudes a warm welcome and the promise of fine local ale and excellent food. Steeped in history, this family run, 16th-century inn located in the heart of the Peak District also offers excellent en-suite accommodation in beautiful country surroundings. The young team at the Old Hall, take great pride in what we have to offer and take satisfaction in making any stay, long or short one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Peak District National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Hall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.