We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and best breakfast ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hallbank Guest House

Hallbank Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hallbank Guest House to your Saves list
Hallbank Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hall Bank Hallgate, Hexham NE46 1XA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 Hexham B&B and Inns
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and best breakfast ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed on 12th & 13th July , room was very clean and nicely decorated ( although not to my taste) the owners were not there when we arrived but we phoned the number on the door and Margaret told us she was looking after her grandchild but gave us a code to open the door, told us which room we were in and told us to make ourselves at home, the whole building was immaculately clean and tidy. The location was excellent , two minutes from the centre of town but very quiet at night. The breakfast the next day was brilliant , fruit , cereal , cold meats, cheese or cooked breakfast (only prepared once you had told Margaret what you would like) lovely home made jam and local bread. Nothing was too much trouble and Margaret and her husband were happy and helpful, I would strongly recommend this B & B if visiting Hexham.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for one night ( 3rd August 2013) for one night in the "Ryan" room. . Place was perfect, rooms were stunning, breakfast was amazing and everyone was so helpful and amazing. Fab experience. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed on a very quiet Sunday 30th June, in fact I was the only guest. The owners were very helpful in assisting me in storing my bike, I was riding through to Seahouses from Derbyshire. The location couldn't be better, centre of town but very quiet as the outside road is shut off at night. The rooms were immaculate. In the morning I enjoyed a lovely breakfast with the owner, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked a room with Margaret who took our card details,when we arrived nobody was there but a note on the window with two contact phone numbers.My wife rang ,no answer on the mobile number left message,land line was answered,and we were told there was no room as the previous occupant had wet the bed and it had been thrown away in its entirety, in the tip,margaret had booked us a room in another place and no she could not tell us the cost and if it was more expensive she would not compensate us as it was not her policy.I complained that her attitude could have been better,she said if we wanted we could sleep on the floor!I am sure she could have picked up a new bed on her return from the tip,but chose not to,she never met us once,and I can only assume she got a better price for her room.Be warned, and there are much better receptions awaiting you in lovely Hexham than this establishment.

Room Tip: go elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely characters building in middle of pleasant market town.i use the word quality for that comes through in decor mattress bedding and shower.It especially comes through in the ingredients of the freshly cooked breakfast.Margaret the owner could not be more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as their is no sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely quiet guest house central location and perfect for couples or families- rooms spacious and well designed- the family room joseph is particulary spacious and has a great sized bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent everthing you could want and service efficent and friendly.
The owner Margaret is friendly and makes you very welcome.
slightly over priced but other than that no grumbles and will definatley recommend and stay again when in hexham.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hallbank is in a great location right in the middle of Hexham which is a lovely town. The room was comfortable and the shower excellent.

I felt it was expensive for a guest house, the price was on a par with the Best Western. There is obviously a need for more reasonably priced rooms in the town centre!

As other reviewers have mentioned, the owner is not always on site. We arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday. The door was open but no-one was around. We were able to contact Margaret by mobile and she told us where the room was so that was fine, but I wasn't completely happy with the set up.

Generous breakfast the next morning, cooked to order.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallbank Guest House

Address: Hall Bank Hallgate, Hexham NE46 1XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallbank Guest House Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.