We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find in the middle of Hexham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bee in the Butterfly

Bee in the Butterfly
2 Cattle Market, Hexham NE46 1LS , England
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 87 Restaurants in Hexham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little find in the middle of Hexham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a gem of a cafe in the middle of Hexham. It's nice to find so much home made food n a cafe, and plenty on offer for gluten free diets too.

We had two different soups both great. We'll definately be visiting again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    10
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Really nice cosy little cafe, a lot of gluten free food which is great. The service was slightly slow, but very friendly, when I visited but it was quite a busy morning. I only had a chai tea so I can't comment on the food, but I would go back to try it sometime.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matfen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely tearoom with great food and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I just love having a tea and little something at the Bee in the Butterfly. Original decor, friendly service and the cakes are always great! I really recommend them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven en route”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were given the name of this lovely wee place when we stopped to ask some likely looking folk in the hight street! For our first time in Hexham and as a break during a long journey from Scotland to Newcastle, it was a really good recommendation. As others have said, the home-made soup is excellent, as are the cakes. Only complaint? The scones were finished by the time we arrived at 1.30 pm! Any cafe decorated with such finds from travels and with a copy of The Desiderata on the wall has to have a good atmosphere. Thank you Debra. Maureen

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely cafe with a fresh menu, not the usual egg and chips!
The homemade soup (Thai chicken and rice) was delicious, very tasty and filling. The owner
Debra has travelled extensively and has brought a little of the exotic back to Hexham, well done a great place for a coffee or a meal in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bee in the Butterfly also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Bee in the Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bee in the Butterfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.