We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Rest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travellers Rest Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Slaley, Hexham NE46 1TT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hexham B&B and Inns
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We visited for Sunday lunch, it was lovely. Will go again. We had the beef and pork, very happy with it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    18
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
56
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
E.lothian
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We booked here again for the 2nd time on the request of our friends we had previously taken here for dinner....We were not diappointed.
The atmosphere is a traditional English pub with all the usual charms...log fire/ low beamed ceiling, and the locals using the bar for a well deserved pint on what was a very warm belated Summer's evening.
The food was as good as we remembered from before.....good sized portions and nicely presented and served by very polite courteous staff.
My only small moan is the space between the chairs and tables it is very tight so chairs are back to back with the next door table.
We will be back when we are staying at out time share at Slaley Hall only 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights with my wife and a friend, We were immediately made to feel very welcome and we enjoyed ALL Meals which were very well prepared and presented(We now have to diet)
The staff were amazing and we were made to feel like long lost friends. Our party were all over 70yrs old and we came away completely rejuvenated. The experience we had was a delight and we will most certainly return to this excellent establishment

Room Tip: Room 1 Excellent Views. Room 3 4 Poster Bed. Great facilities Loads of HOT water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Called in here for lunch today. Greeted warmly by the staff. Food was excellent, and they have a brilliant coffee machine. We will definitely return when we are in that area. Whole experience was first class, and placed in beautiful surroundings too. What more could you wish for?

Room Tip: Have a good look at their website - they even have a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Me and my partner were staying as we were attending a wedding nearby. The room was lovely and the pub looks really nice but we unfortunately didn’t have time to sample this. Great breakfast and staff couldn’t have been more helpful. Also very good vaule for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were told that this pub was worth a visit and how right it turned out to be. It is how a country pub should be,quaint with good service from everyone in the pub. The beer is good and the food cannot be faulted in any way,from price to amount to speed of service,all excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We went for dinner one night while we were staying at Slaley Hall. Varied menu. I had duck in a cranberry sauce and my husband had lamb cutlets. Will certainly return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travellers Rest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Rest Inn

Address: Slaley, Hexham NE46 1TT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travellers Rest Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travellers Rest dates back to the 16th century as a farmhouse and has for over one hundred and fifty years been an inn providing much needed rest and sustenance to passing travellers and locals alike. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Rest Hotel Hexham
Travellers Rest Inn Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Rest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Travellers Rest Inn to your Saves list