We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vindolanda

Vindolanda
Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7JN, England
01434 344277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Roman Vindolanda today and you will find one of the North East’s most famous and not to be missed tourist attractions lying in the beautiful landscape of Hadrian's Wall Country. Formerly a key military post on the northern frontier of Britain, Vindolanda is the home of Britain's 'Top Treasure' - the Vindolanda Writing Tablets - and is one Europe's most important Roman archeological sites, with live excavations taking place every year. The recently fully refurbished on site museum provides a breathtaking exploration of the Trust's ongoing discoveries and accounts of Roman life. There are no other places on earth where it is possible to experience Roman Britain, Hadrian's Wall and history coming to life before your very eyes all in one space! Come and explore it for yourself and find out why Vindolanda is treasured worldwide.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found this by chance when on route to Hadrians Wall but it was worth the time to have a look around a working excavation site

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    130
    15
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Little else like in the UK to give you a real picture of Roman life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Its been 5 years since I've been to Vindolanda and in that time its got better! I love going back and seeing how the excavations are progressing, and the museum has been hugely updated and better laid out since last time. The wooden writing tablets are an incredible snap shot of Roman daily life, and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our visit.
The site of the fort is very impressive, the chance to walk along a Roman street is amazing and the wall fort reconstructions are not only interesting but good for kids too.
We did go to the Roman Army museum too, and its good for kids with plenty of hands on bits and recreations, but it lacked the authenticity that makes Vindolanda so special,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Twin this with the Roman Army Museum for a unforgettable experience... Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

See my review on the Roman Army museum and this for more info. Submerse yourself in history, scenery and watch as the roman history comes to life in this and its twin site of the RAM.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Incredible museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have visited Chesters and Housesteads on previous visits, but Vindolanda was very different and had much more in the way of treasure on show. This has been very well preserved. I was very impressed with the tablets, an incredible find and priceless piece of history. Well worth the fee of £6 to get in. A good wide patch but an incline in areas.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Andrews
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“"Over the Heather, the wet wind blows"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Auden's poem perfectly sums up Vindolanda and, on the day, that we drove up we undulated up the terrain through the dips filled with water from the recent heavy rain.
Actually, this was the perfect weather to be there. The Ancient Romans would have experienced no less in all of their long occupation of the North.
When we discovered that the Museum was a ten minute walk away (and it was still raining) the kind gentleman behind the desk gifted me a pak-a-mac. He also gave us an amazing fact about that recent horrible weather when Newcastle had 1,500 lightning strikes in fifteen minutes!
My friend thought he'd said " 27, 000 strikes" which I tried to interpret, as we strode though the grey landscape littered with the foundations of this signicicant site.
I tried, but couldn't fit in 27,000 "kapows"-howver hard I tried.
But, even 1,500? That must have been Quite a Sight.
Which, everything here, was.
The approach is magnificent, even though one's glasses are blurry with rain; and the Museum, simply put, superb.
Every one of its staff is an Enthusiast; and it showed.
Throughout the 3rd and 4th Centuries was a continuous development, from timber to stone, as well as on-going skirmishes with the local tribes. And, what was both discovered and reclaimed,
by the team of archeologists and volunteers is superlative.
There's a not-to-be missed short movie on the reclamation of the tablets which somehow got missed from the burning of documentation when the Romans abandoned the long-standing fort
but be prepared to stay longer than you might have thought because there is so much to see, and it all still resonates with their presence.
What I really liked was the way these invaders respected the gods of the local tribes but that didn't stop the"barbarians" skirmishing in such an indefagitable way that they eventually retreated. Still, they had spread their forces very thinly, so that was inevitable, really.
Ad 410 seems such a long way off but the way Time is flying, nowadays it won't be long before we'll be museum pieces. Except, I'm wondering what our legacy will be.
Those Romans, they were Really Something""

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vindolanda also viewed

 
Northumberland, England
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Vindolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vindolanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.