We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely light bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Creamy Coffee Pot - CLOSED

The Creamy Coffee Pot
25 St Mary's Chare, Hexham NE46 1NQ, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Description: Gormet Coffee Shop with Fresh home-made sandwiches with home-made bread and scones.
Restaurant details
Description: Gormet Coffee Shop with Fresh home-made sandwiches with home-made bread and scones.
Choppington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely light bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable hour with friends eating panini and drinking great coffee. We were made very welcome and even the dog was given a bowl of water to have outside. Cheese scones were beautiful if a little on the large side. Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had very high expectations of this after reading all the brilliant reviews on here so after most of the day walking at Hadrian's Wall we were all looking forward to the scones, coffee and cake that had been raved about. The fruit scones were burnt and so an immediate turn off. However, the cheese scones looked and tasted amazing. The coffee and hot chocolate was hot but wasn't the best we had ever had. We weren't very impressed with the staff who was maybe a bit too open whilst chatting to a customer (friend) across a half empty shop. I think because our expectations of the shop were so high then the let down of it not meeting them made what could of been a good experience and lot worse. Sorry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Bacon Sandwich in Hexham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Called in here with my daughter and grandson for a coffee, my wife and daughter had scones and cake which they both really enjoyed and I had a bacon sandwich, got to admit it, it was the tastiest bacon I have had for a long time. The staff are really friendly and love children, nothing was a bother to them. I have had coffee and scones here once before a few months ago, I think it is the best coffee shop in Hexham.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best scones in Hexham, and possibly the UK, coffee's good too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Absolutely the best scones in Hexham and possible the best scones I've ever tasted. The cheese scones are always good, and there are sometimes some interesting and very tasty flavour combinations on offer (feta and olive was a particular favourite). Lovely coffee too.
This little cafe is really lovely, staff are always welcoming and willing to help out however they can (they give my kids their drinks in cups with lids & straws to avoid spillages). Child friendly with toys and tolerant staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Friendly little place - we had great paninis for lunch, but unfortunately didn't have room for the great looking scones! Recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Creamy Coffee Pot also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Creamy Coffee Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.