We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boatside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boatside Inn
Save
You added The Boatside Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Warden, Hexham NE46 4SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 60 Hexham B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked the 3 rooms at the back of the hotel. The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. We had pre dinner drinks in the garden, where the landlord joined us. Both him and his wife were perfect hosts and made is very welcome. We then had dinner which was excellent traditional English food. Excellent service, huge meals and value for money. At breakfast we were served by the owners son who like his father was very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was plentiful with all the traditional offerings eg black pudding, bacon, eggs , mushrooms, tomato etc. The location is a bit remote ( no shops in walking distance) but it was just what we wanted.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms at the back of the hotel were the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

One of the best Sunday lunches I have had. Good choice of meats served with huge home made yorkshires and plenty of vegetables. Vegetarians are also catered for. Large portions (no room for dessert), efficient friendly service and good value for money. There were some nice local ales to sample as well. The restaurant was very busy so probably best to book.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Visited with 2 friends for dinner, on a beautiful, sunny, Monday evening and was amazed by the number of people dining - surely a good sign. Service was fast, friendly and efficient and the choice, for the 2 meat eaters was tremendous, although slightly more limited for our vegetarian friend; however, her choice of tempura battered vegetables was declared delicious. My braising steak was beautifully tender, the only slight let down was the vegetable side dish, the green beans being slightly over-cooked for my taste. Overall, a veery enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

we had a lovely sunday lunch,lamb with roast and mash,carrots,green beans,cabbage,carrots,yorkshire pudding and swede,really really nice. they asked if we had booked we had not but they came into the bar within 10 mins and told us a table was now ready

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband, dog and I have just returned from a 3 night stay and we all agree with the recent reviews. Since all rooms are separate from the main building with their own outside door it meant that our dog didn’t have to be on a lead when going to/from the room and that we didn’t constantly have to worry about her upsetting any other guests and likewise them disturbing her. Our King Size bed seemed softer than I would usually have but surprisingly for me in a strange place, when my head hit the pillow, I immediately fell asleep and woke up feeling refreshed. Food portions are huge and my Lamb Shoulder could have fed 2. We also tackled the Fish and Chips ! We would all recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My partner and I, and dog,have just returned from a two night stay at this idyllic bed and breakfast. As noted by other reviewers the accomodation is situated in stone bungalows at the rear of the main building, this gives a great feeling of staying in your own apartment but with the great facilities of the main bar and restaurant just across the courtyard. The main bar and restaurant are outstanding, we dined in the restaurant on the Friday, and in the bar on the Saturday. On both occassions the food and service were outstanding, in addition the breakfasts really set you up for the day. My partner is vegetarian and she said that her meals were also exceptional. The Haddock and chip merits special mention which I had on Saturday, think Man V Food and you will get the idea of portion size. All in all the Boatside is a great place to stay, close to places of interest, such as Hadrians Wall, Hexham and even Newcastle if it takes your fancy. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stay here for a 2 nights i had booked 2 rooms,on arrival we were very welcomed,asked about any breakfast or dining arrangments then shown to our rooms,i say rooms they are more of a bungalow type building but with only a large bedroom and bathroom which comes with all the amenities you need. staying here you are about 2 miles from hexham itself, if up to it there is a lovely walk from the inn to hexham which follows the railway track,it took us around 40mins but we walk at a snails pace.
Breakfasts are GOOD, all you can want, if it's cerial fruit or the full english it's there.we found the locals who frequent the bar to be very approachable and easliy joined in on converstaions etc,we ate at the inn on our second day and can say i wasn't disappointed, good service with good food.
In all we found the stay to be of a high standard, from the bar to the food to the comphy beds it was good.

Room Tip: There is the self catering option if that is what you want, just ask when you enquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boatside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatside Inn

Address: Warden, Hexham NE46 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boatside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Boatside Inn Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.