We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class accommodation in a wonderful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairshaw Rigg

Save Saved
You added Fairshaw Rigg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairshaw Rigg
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lowgate, Hexham NE46 2NW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hexham B&B and Inns
Surrey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First class accommodation in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We spent two nights here in July and booked the double room. I had been in touch by email with Paul beforehand and he had been very helpful in suggesting places for us to eat in the evenings, and even went to the trouble of booking tables for us.

Both Paul and Kathryn are extremely hospitable and friendly, and we felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Our spacious room was lovely – attractive, restful décor and furnishings, with a very comfortable king sized bed. There is a hairdryer, alarm radio/ipod docking station, flat screen TV/DVD player and hospitality tray provided in the room. The bathroom was pristine, with an efficient shower. There are luxury complimentary toiletries, and fluffy, good quality towels.

Breakfast is taken in the orangery at a large table shared with the other four guests. It was lovely to chat to our fellow guests, discussing plans for the day, and giving feedback on where we had eaten the night before etc. The breakfasts are wonderful. Fresh orange juice, home made breads, jams and marmalades, cereals, porridge, yoghurts, and the full Northumbrian Breakfast is a must! Delicious local sausages and bacon, and eggs fresh from the hens! Paul is always on hand at breakfast to serve and give advice on the local area etc.

We were visiting my elderly aunt in Hexham (a short distance away), and Kathryn and Paul were more than happy for us to bring my aunt over to see their herd of alpacas. They both took the trouble to spend time with my aunt explaining about the breeding programme and even invited her in for some freshly brewed coffee. They are both genuinely kind and warm people.

Would we recommend Fairshaw Rigg to others? Without any hesitation. Would we return? Most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
106
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Paul and Kathryn are welcoming hosts for this super B and B - everything was lovely - the room, the really comfortable bed with its alpaca duvet, the bathroom and the delicious breakfasts in the orangery.

We wished that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011 via mobile

I stayed for one night in June after reading the recommendations on Trip advisor. I was even more impressed by the warm welcome , lovely facilities and superb home cooked breakfast.

The hosts were so friendly, they shared a bottle of their finest malt!

Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a unique B&B experience in the North East

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 day stay at this lovely B&B. It is situated about a mile from Hexham just off the A69 in a quiet location near the North Pennines but convenient to Hadrian's Wall, Hexham, Corbridge and other local amenities. The owners, Paul and Kathyrn,were very welcoming and extremely helpful. They recommended and made dinner reservations for local excellent restaurants for our 2 nights stay. In addition Paul was a great source of local information and gave us excellent directions for the best views and access to Handrian's wall. Our room and en-suite was large, immaculate and very comfortable with lovely rural views especially of their herd of alpacas (see attached photo). Breakfast was excellent with freshly baked bread - the fruit compote, yogurt and granola is highly recommended.
Overall an excellent B&B and we hope to return some time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

One of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. Rooms very clean and comfortable, breakfasts very good with local produce and their own hen's eggs and very friendly and helpful hosts. Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at Fairshaw Rigg with some friends as we were attending a wedding at near by Langley Castle. We chose on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and can't say we were disappointed!
Room was bigger than it looks on the web and was immaculate. Bed really comfy and the bathroom was huge! It's been converted fairly recently so all fixtures and fittings have no wear and tear.
Breakfast was lovely with great food. Service was quick and the owners were chatty (but not obtrusive). Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Haxham area, especially if you're attending Langley Castle, seeing Hadrian's Wall or going to Carlisle or Newcastle.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

A great B&B with 5 star service. During time of booking up until our departure we received excellent service. This is a gem of a B&B and anyone staying with Paul and his family will be made to feel welcome with great facilities, fab breakfast and a wonderful location. We were lucky to be introduced to the alpaca family including their newest addition and to the chickens who deliver wonderful eggs (made my local smoked haddock taste great). Compliments to the Chef. Want to go back now, buy a pair of alpaca socks and an alpaca duvet (the best duvet ever)!! - Adrian and Debs

Room Tip: Book well in advance so not to be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairshaw Rigg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairshaw Rigg

Address: Lowgate, Hexham NE46 2NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairshaw Rigg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairshaw Rigg is an exclusive 5*, silver awarded, bed and breakfast establishment near Hadrian’s Wall, Northumberland. Our guests always enjoy a warm and friendly welcome and accommodation of a very high standard. Relax in our luxurious bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms whilst enjoying tranquillity, privacy and individual service. Fairshaw Rigg is a small working alpaca farm where we specialise in breeding top quality black alpacas, most of which graze happily next to the house. Situated just 2 miles SW of the famous market town of Hexham, Fairshaw Rigg is near many places of natural beauty and historic interest. Hadrian’s Wall is very close by together with numerous other Roman sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Fairshaw Rigg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairshaw Rigg Hotel Hexham
Fairshaw Rigg Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairshaw Rigg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.