We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exploring Northumberland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shieldhall

Shieldhall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northumberland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shieldhall
Wallington, NE61 4AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 488 Northumberland B&B and Inns
Dover
1 review
“exploring Northumberland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We found Shieldhall in Alistair Sawday on the internet and spent one night there en route to Alnwick. We were sorry that we couldn't stay longer, there is so much to see in the area. Our room had a hand carved four poster bed which was the most comfortable bed we have slept in. The farmhouse and outbuildings have been beautifully restored, including a library where we had an aperitif before dinner, served in the dining room in the farmhouse. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darlington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

spent two days at this excellent b&b a term which does not do it justice. we decided to take advantage of the home cooked meals which were available, and were very happy with the great setting and fabulous quality and taste of our meals. the little chats before dinner with stephen were a nice touch. the rooms in the courtyard were of a very high standard and the fact that you had to cross the courtyard, to get to the sitting room or dining room was not an inconvenience, we would certainly stop at celia and Stephen's lovely home again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Shieldhall was everything i wanted it to be and more for this special anniversary weekend with my husband. Stephen and Celia couldn't do more for their guests which in my eyes is the ultimate quality in making your guests feel at home... and that's exactly how we felt.
The food was amazing ; the oak room where we stayed was just beautiful !!! Meeting the other guests just before dinner was a charming experience and had some great conversations!
If you're looking for that amazing experience you will not be disappointed at all!!!
We are planning to return to shieldhall in the very near future!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at Shieldhall.
It is a lovely peaceful location with excellent food, accommodation and hospitality.
We ate there every night and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company of the other visitors.
It also proved an excellent base for visits to locations such as Hadrians Wall, Alnwick, the Farne Islands and Holy Island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Having had a very comfortable stay at Shieldhall wih my Aunt in May 2009, when I needed somewhere to stay near to Hadrian's Wall with my daughter and her fiance, I immediately thought of Shieldhall. The welcome is warm and friendly, the rooms are very clean and the Pine rooms are ideal if you are travelling with family as there are two bedrooms. Breakfast are excellent. Although we didn't experience Celia's cooking this time, I did have a meal on my previous visit and what a pleasant experience it was, a drink before dinner, a convivial host and excellent food.
Shieldhall is well placed in that most of the popular sights are within an hours drive. We visited Lindisfarne, Hadrian's Wall and I visited Alnwick, Morpeth and Newcastle on my previous visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stopping off on a journey back from Scotland, we were looking for somewhere to stay close to Wallington Hall [our favourite place].
My search brought up Shieldhall, a fantastic country house overlooking the Wallington Estate. With the bedrooms set in converted barns around a beautiful courtyard, there was peace and privacy and yet the hosts were on hand for a chat and useful advice. Each room was named after thew wood used to furnish it, we stayed in the oak room, which was beautifully furnished.
The bathroom was very spacious and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was served in a stylish dining room surrounded by antiquities and there was the opportunity to enjoy a relaxed chat with other guests.
All in all, a fantastic place to stay. Stylish and yet at the same time warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed a night at Shieldhall in late July before going to a wedding in Otterburn the following day. Within 5 minutes of arriving after the 6-hour drive we felt right at home...and were relaxing with a bottle of cold white in our room! Stephen and Celia were perfect hosts throughout and offer a very personal service, welcoming you into their library for pre dinner drinks (and chats!) and later into the dining room for Celia's 3 courses of deliciousness.

After dinner and having met the chickens (their eggs the next morning were very lovely!), we finished the day by taking the family dogs off for a stroll around the beautiful grounds - perfect!

Shieldhall really is a very special place and certainly a hidden gem. The only thing that could have improved our stay was if we were able to stay longer to discover more of the beautiful countryside...! No doubt we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhall

Address: Wallington, NE61 4AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Northumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation in recently converted 18thC. farm steading with handcrafted furnishings, original art & antique detail everywhere.Deliciously Aga cooked meals from local & seasonal produce.Fine Wines & Secret BarCentral for the Roman Wall, the Cheviots, Keilder and the coast ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shieldhall Northumberland, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shieldhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shieldhall to your Saves list