We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kielder Observatory

Kielder Observatory
Black Fell | One mile west of Kielder village., not known, England
07805638469
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Observatories/ Planetariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Kielder Observatory is a centre for public outreach in the science of astronomy and physics. It serves to promote the universe to our guests, enabling people from all walks of life and levels of interest to access the visual splendour of the cosmos. With a superb array of telescopes and instrumentation to explore the depths of space. Expert tuition awaits the visitors who come along and take part in our featured events, sit in complete comfort in our classroom next to the log burning fire and let us take you on a tour of the universe.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited as a group of 4 on Friday 8 November and luckily for us it was a clear night with lots to see. Staff were more than helpful when l had problems booking for the event, and a big thank you to Neill who sorted it all out for us. Our first visit to beautiful Northumberland and this really topped off our week. Would recommend it to anyone who wants to see something out of this world.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    19
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for the stars, stay for the passion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visited Kielder Observatory at a public event whilst on a short tour of England and Scotland. Absolutely incredible. The set-up was fantastic with up-to-date equipment. It had been fairly cloudy all day when we visited so we hadn't hoped for seeing much and were almost preparing to be disappointed. Luckily the sky cleared completely whilst we were there and we had the most amazing views of the sky. Having said this, even if it had stayed cloudy we would have still been wowed by the sheer passion of everyone involved with the project, with the talks given by Gary at the start and end of the night being so incredibly engaging. Personally, I could have sat for hours, just listening. If you're reading this having booked an evening, and it looks like it may be awful weather when you're due to go, you'd definately be doing yourself a disservice if didn't turn up

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albiro, Manager at Kielder Observatory, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi Thank you for your post, its awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, so PLEASE come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Middle of nowhere - centre of the universe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Family night - 8pm till 11pm. Brilliant event! The volunteers are very helpful and knowledgeable. Gary is a superb presenter - keeps it interesting and relevant for kids and astronomy graduates alike. Difficult to spot our familiar constellations because the sky was a mass of bright stars! Was easy to find because I'd looked at the route beforehand on google map so knew what villages to look out for. Will certainly go again. 2 hour drive from Darlington.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albiro, Manager at Kielder Observatory, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Centre of the "Universe" Love it, well you know this is exactly how it appears, but were not...See you soon X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fascinating!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Gary's sheer enthusiasm, dedication and passion made this night amazing! His knowledge of the Auroras (the talk we booked for the night) but everything else once you get chatting to him afterwards was stunning.
We didn't get to see the aurora borealis after the cosy presentation inside with the log fire but that didn't spoil our night. We had perfect clear skies and got to view saturn and its rings, jupiter, galaxy clusters and the moon under high power telescopes!
Gary and other volunteers on the deck had lazers and pointed to loads of objects in the sky so you knew what you were looking at.
It is unbelievaby cold up there with the wind. You MUST put as many layers on as possible and gloves! Warm up with a hot chocolate too and go back inside to the fire for a bit.
Great all round experience. Gary you have a fantastic creation there. Loved it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albiro, Manager at Kielder Observatory, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Great nights under the stars...does it get any better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Nibley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kielder Observatory, Northumberland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Tucked away in the Kielder Forest, in a very dark part of Northumberland, this is a great place to visit. The night we went was sadly no good for star gazing, but it was still very worthwhile, so don't let poor weather put you off. We had a fascinating talk on the Universe, presented in a thought provoking but intelligible way ( not just for nerds! ) followed by a tour of the telescopes.

Mostly run by dedicated and enthusiastic volunteers it does a brilliant job of connecting ordinary people with the extraordinary.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albiro, Manager at Kielder Observatory, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
"Nerds" unite! hey, we are all nerds in some way just most of us wont admit to it..I do and ma proud..glad you enjoyed the talk even on a cloudy night there is so much to do listen to and see....its our universe and we love to explore it from here! come again..on a clear night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kielder Observatory also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Northumberland, England
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Kielder Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kielder Observatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kielder Observatory to your Saves list