We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not trendy not tasty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mem saab

Mem saab
357-359 Wellingborough Rd, Northampton NN1 4EU, England
01604 630214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 421 Restaurants in Northampton
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Uk
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“not trendy not tasty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

this place sets itself up as the indian restaurant for the beautiful people in town. This is where all the trendy folk go for a chic meal. personally i was underwhelmed when i went as my friend who says she dines here all the time had bigged it upso much saying that its really this and really that and somuch trendier than the regular places. The food is okay but amience is totally flat with a sort of living room style waiting area on white sofas while you watch others eat and then the meal is delivered to a very basic and coldcanteen style table. a bit remeniscent of school.itsnot trendy its not chic but it is different, cold and basic. there are better venues in town that are more authentic and comfortable with far more character.this place is simply a large cold echoey room with a few tables and some sofas to wait on while u watch others eat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    18
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Indian tastes I have every ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Whilst being on business in Northampton I have ate at Mem Saab usually once a week. I do like an indian once a week, however at Mem Saab I look forward to it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Please keep in mind I have only visited for the Sunday buffet, never for regular service. This is the best quality Indian buffet I've been to. The food is excellent and the choice also fantastic. You do get what you pay for, it is not cheap though, but that is reflected in the quality. Amazingly even the desserts aren't bad (although very British!) I would definitely recommend anyone try the Sunday buffet, we've been three times over the past year or so and found it very consistent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“posh indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good atmosphere, slightly upmarket Indian restaurant. Menu differs from most western Indian restaurants which is nice. Good bar attached to the restaurants (Corkers). Upmarket prices too.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday - Bad DAY!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Me and a group of around 20 decided to dine at Mem Saab for my 21st birthday. On arrival we had a nice/warm reception. Once the starters came out they were cold and most of party including me were vegetarian and the food was not at all desirable. The mains were not particularly pleasant either the food was bland and the personalised menu was not delivered. More to the point 4 of my guests were sat at a different table this was simply upsetting!! On the upside the cocktails were delicious and the entertainment was delightful (Amit the magician). When it came to paying the bill my friends were double charged when paying for drinks tabs. This clearly shows the lack of communication and care!! I doubt I would take a large party back to the restaurant. I think its more suitable for smaller group. Still very disappointed!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mem saab also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Mem saab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mem saab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.