We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Turnpike - Beefeater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Turnpike - Beefeater
Northampton Rd, Harpole,, Northampton NN7 4DD, England
01604832340
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 421 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
gosport
2 reviews
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good food and exellent service staff were friendly and the food was always cooked to your liking, good menu even the meal deal menu was good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    26
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am amazed how one lady can stay so pleasant and sociable when working alone for the breakfast service.

Sheila is very personable and extremely hardworking, it is a shame that the Restaurant management do not recognise the need for additional waiting staff in the mornings!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Despite booking I was told there would be up to an hour waiting !! This visit was a special occasion Completely spoiled .
Place overcrowded ,Too busy dealing with casual customers to look after bookings. We left .
After almost a month I am STILL waiting for my complaint to be resolved!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing evening meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Along with 11 work colleagues I had an evening meal here as we were staying in the adjacent Premier Inn hotel. One of my colleagues had booked a table for all of us for 9pm. We didn't get seated until 10pm and starters did not arrive at the table until 10:20pm. The main courses were disappointing for several of my colleagues, one had chilli with stone cold rice, I had a steak that could have been made into a stab vest successfully and several of us had cold chips. We had to interrupt a waitress who was setting tables to order dessert at 10:45pm. The desserts were of very good quality, however and the staff, despite not being as attentive as people delayed by an hour would expect, were pleasant and polite. Two of my colleagues sought refunds and one decided not to take the meal at all as it was so late.
Breakfast the following morning, by contrast, could not be faulted. Service was quick and attentive and food quality was excellent, so possibly the previous evening was a one off.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Angie is amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited the beefeater the day it reopened after flood damage,.the food was what you would expect from a chain restaurant. But the service we received fom our waitress, Angie, was fantastic.
It was a very busy night, but for Angie nothing was too much trouble and even found time to have a chat to us whilst keeping all her other tables happy....and always with a big smile on her face amazing !

The management at Beefeater head office should use Angie as a role model on how to look after guests and give exemplary service.

I hope this review is read by the manager and our comments are passed on to Angie. we will definately return to the Turnpike for the service more than the food, can we get a copy of Angie's rota so we know when to come !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turnpike - Beefeater also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Kislingbury, Northampton
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Turnpike - Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turnpike - Beefeater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.