We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at the Hopping Hare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopping Hare

Save Saved
You added Hopping Hare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hopping Hare
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Northampton
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service at the Hopping Hare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visiting Northampton we stayed one night at the Hopping Hare. Staff could not of been more helpful. Excellent value for money. Breakfast was also excellent.
Would recommend this hotel.

Good value for money as the price we paid we did not expect much.
We will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: traveling with babies take your own travel cot as they do not supply one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Iloveit,

Thank you for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare to other travellers.

Our staff are very friendly and helpful and I am particularly pleased that you appreciated the excellent customer service which they always try to deliver.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    54
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
85
5
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Haven't eaten here in quite a while and it gets better each time. Had a wonderful meal with all the trimmings. Such friendly and helpful staff and such good value for money. If your looking for a tasty lunch or a special place to treat someone I'd highly recommend the hopping Hare!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Nikki,

Thank you so much for your very positive review.

The staff are indeed extremely helpful and friendly and I know they always go out of their way to offer exceptional customer service. I know that their efforts are recognised by our customers but of course only a few post a review. So thank you very much.

Kind regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights and for an evening meal. I would recommend that the restaurant is brilliant. The food is of a very high standard and would recommend as fine dining. My husband ordered the 31 aged sirloin steak which he thoroughly enjoyed, and I ordereed trout with green salad leaves toss in lime juice which was fab. Our stay in the hotel was average, as you entered the B&B. Not sure where the receptionist area is situated as there is no sign to indicated this. I found that the staff was not very welcoming or friendly. There was a wedding party that had booked out most of the rooms and we were subjected to the last room which was awful, it was a sweat box for two nights that we had a fan going all night (no aircon) In the bathroom was a shower cubicle only that you could just about fit into and definitely not able to swing a cat in. Breakfast was good but service awful. Waitress decided to bring me porridge and a cooked breakfast at the same time to eat. Very disappointing stay. The only saving grace to this establishment is the brilliant chef a sous chefs in the kitchen.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Winnie,

I am pleased that you recognised our restaurant as brilliant and that you would recommend the food as fine dining. We don't believe we are fine dining but we do know we are one of the very best restaurants in the County and our food is of exceptional quality and excellent value for money.

The staff are very disappointed with your comments about service and I am surprised as excellent customer service is our highest priority and overwhelming feedback from customers is positive and very good.

On a couple of specifics, the fan you referred to was in fact the air extraction unit in the en suite bathroom which was on as the light in the en suite must have been left on (it goes off automatically 15 minutes after the light is switched off).

Our powerful showers are a standard size for hotels. We have had positive feedback on them, but never have had a complaint.

I understand that porridge and breakfast were ordered at the same time and prepared at the same time as the chef assumed there were 2 people for breakfast. As you know as soon as the mistake was discovered the breakfast was returned and reserved later, with an apology for the misunderstanding from our staff.

Regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel . The rooms are very modern and clean . And at £65 was very good value. Excellent breakie aswell . Will be back 100%. Only poor thing for me was there was no sky sports in bar and nowhere close by to watch the fitba

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Discodave,

Many thanks for your review and for awarding us top marks.

The team are delighted and they really appreciate their efforts being recognised.

I would like to think that you really enjoyed a day without football on the TV?

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitlon keynes england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is decent but being in the side of a housing estate gives no views or Vista.the rooms all face into a central square which unfortunately had nothing but a huge and very noisy air con unit from the kitchens below. We had the window open fire fine fresh air but this The air con revved up at 6 40am , so had to leap out of bed and close.dude awakening.
Decor is lovely around the hotel and the rooms..good facilities in room and beds comfortable.
Breakfast menu was good, but delivery was ok , items like bacon were cremated from being cooked in bulk early, toast was a bit creaky and not freshly made...but it's hard to cater for masses quickly, and the wait for breakfast was no time at all.
Staff were great and friendly, no problems there.getting a "real" coffee with your breakfast was no problem but if course extra charge.
Overall though..great value for money and recommended if you can sleep with the window closed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear bighgb,

Thank you for your review and for recommending The Hopping Hare as great value for money. Indeed we are exceptional value.

In fact 15 of our 20 bedrooms are outward facing with pleasant views and we only have 5 overlooking the internal roof area. On your next visit please request a room with a view and I think you will be very pleasantly surprised.

The issue with the kitchen fan is when it is switched on in the morning. A bit like the engine of a high powered car being started!! In midweek breakfast starts at 7am to accommodate business customers and the fans go on about 6.40 am as you discovered! Once they are on they are very quiet but the start up can be disturbing. At weekends breakfasts generally are from 9am (although we do accommodate guests who want breakfast earlier) and the fans are generally switched on about 8.40am. You will appreciate that there are legal requirements to have fans operating at all times in commercial kitchens.

Generally our breakfasts are excellent and I will investigate why this was not the case in this instance.

Kind regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped over for just one night. The hotel was easy to find and there was plenty of car parking. I arrived very late but arrangements had been made for me collect a key and access to the hotel was straightforward. My room was spacious, furnished and decorated in a contemporary style and was spotlessly clean. It was quiet and the bed was particularly comfortable. Breakfast was served in the dining room and in addition to a selection of cereals a full cook to order hot menu was available. Delicious! Such a delight to find a high quality, family owned and operated business. If you're fed up with bland, corporate and impersonal hotels with mediocre service standards then give this one a try. You'll notice a difference.

Room Tip: My comments are based on my stay in room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Gordon and Lynn,

Many thanks for your review.

Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the team are delighted with your positive comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 3 times now. Breakfasts much improved, and staff very accommodating. BUT, when breakfast is from 9am, why is the hoovering started at the same time? All you smell is dust. It is very sad that a good meal is so spoilt. I don't blame the cleaners... Very sweet girls. Please reorganise the time of cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Christopher,

Thank you for your review.

Good point and we will ensure that cleaning times are changed.

We look forward to your next visit and getting full marks.

Kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopping Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopping Hare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.