We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hosts, OK facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poplars Hotel

The Poplars Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Poplars Hotel to your Saves list
The Poplars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cross Street | Moulton, Northampton NN3 7RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
1 review
“Great location, great hosts, OK facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Terrific location in picturesque village, excellent breakfast (didn't try dinner), excellent service and authentic historic building. Old buildings don't always lend themselves to great conversions so some of the facilities are underwhelming, such as the shower too small to turn in and the pressure too low to stay wet. But those are products of the old building and minor considering the positive aspects.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    24
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
19
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having used a number of hotels in the last 2 weeks in Northampton, I happened across this place by accident. I cannot speak highly enough of my time there. As my time in Northampton was not planned (visiting hospital) I wanted somewhere as cheap as possible to rest my head and spend the time between visiting times. The place was being run temporarily by "Basil & Sybil" the stand in Managers who were running the place whilst the owners were on holiday. They were great! Made me feel very comfortable and looked after me a treat. The place itself is nice and ultra clean in a lovely location. Fantastic meals at reasonable process including good home cooked English breakfasts.The personal touch wins against the big hotels any day. Hope to return again. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Would stay here again, very friendly owners, nice lounge for guests, situated in the village with a choice of restaurants/pubs - easy to find, few minutes drive off the main A road. Probably only about 10 minutes or so off the M1.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This may look a little unfair as this was the hottest day (so far) of the year, but this was an awful experience. A single room under a flat roof it was oppressively hot. One small window and a tiny portable electric fan was all that gave relief from the heat. It was slightly cooler in the corridors and in the dining room, but only just. Now the owners were a very nice and personable couple but this is a business, not a charm contest. If your rooms cannot be properly ventilated or cooled either do something about it or don't let them out in hot weather. If the roof leaked when it rains you wouldn't use the room. If it was 5 degrees below you'd put extra heat in there. Buy an air conditioner!

Otherwise, nice looking building from the outside. This is it's best point and you don't have to pay to look at it. Inside it is dated, but it is clean and well looked after. Food in restaurant nothing special. Please don't say that food is locally sourced when it is patently obvious that virtually all breakfast items are bulk catering supplies.

This is the first time I've stayed anywhere and counted the hours to when I could leave. 'Terrible' doesn't come close.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee2903, Owner at The Poplars Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear guest , We are sorry that you had a very unpleasant experience in our hotel and would like to apologise sincerely for this. As hotel owners we are always disappointed when guests do not make their views known whilst at the hotel, as in this way we can make an adjustment to make your stay more comfortable. You did stay 2 nights in our hotel, and if after the first night you had made your concerns known, we could have moved you to another, cooler room. We also do have a portable air conditioning unit which we can place in rooms where guests have a problem with the temperature.

Whilst we do purchase some of our food from major national catering suppliers, well over half of our purchases are made in the Northampton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than planned, but were made welcome in a warm way.
Our room has all that we need, and is very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast menu is extensive, the food is fresh, and the service excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had room in the annex for our annual 3 night stay for the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.
The annex rooms are always nice and cool, being shaded and on the ground floor.
As ever the hotel spotlessly clean.
Breakfast start time on race day moved earlier to 7am to accommodate anyone wanting an early dart to the circuit.
Warm welcome by the owner as on 7 previous occasions.
For a base to visit Silverstone or indeed the Northamptonshire area this is a super place to stay.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are cooler if you visit in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Although it had been about 7 years since my parents stayed here on another trip to England, Diana found all my father's information on the computer system and check-in was very easy when I returned with him for a one night stay. Our room in the back "modern" wing was huge (by English standards) and we were pleased not to have to haul our suitcases up any stairs. The room was clean and had lots of nice amenities including lots of electrical outlets, a large shower, a hair dryer, snacks, etc. We enjoyed a leisurely supper of tasty Indian entrees with sherry beforehand and wine during and breakfast the next morning was lovely too. Overall, a great value for the price with welcoming hosts too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Poplars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poplars Hotel

Address: Cross Street | Moulton, Northampton NN3 7RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#8 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poplars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Poplars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poplars Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poplars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.