We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walnut Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Walnut Tree Inn to your Saves list
The Walnut Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21, Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel and used the restaurant for both dinner and
The hotel and bar staff were very good.
Great base for Silverstone.
Food was of a high standard, squid very good and ribeye steak was excellent... the adjoining bar is well worth a visit,
All in all great stay, only draw back was our room was at the front of the building directly alongside a main train line with Virgin trains passing though at speed on a regular basis!
Minor issue and would happily return

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
29
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in June for 1 night on business. My first concern was that the moment I drove up to the hotel I could see it was literally a stone's throw from a railway line. Not just any railway line, but a Virgin express railway line that had trains running all through the night, most frequently every 5-7 minutes.

I have never had such a bad night's sleep in my life. The trains were constant and as I was in room 6, at the front of the hotel, there was no escape. Each time a train pelted past the whole floor would vibrate. Just as I nodded off a train would pass, wake me up, I would nod off again and the whole process continued from the moment I attempted to sleep until I got up at 6.30am. Not ideal when you have a full day of training to deliver the following day.

To compound matters, in my room there was a fire exit sign that was lit up green all night and I constantly felt I was being beamed up it was so bright.

The website for the hotel is very misleading as there is absolutely no mention of the railway line. I am amazed that the TripAdvisor reviews are not worse!! I cannot believe that this hotel would ever attract returning customers.

The staff were all very friendly and the food was average.

Would not recommend to anyone who plans on sleeping here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A friendly little hotel. We arrived to check in very late - which seemed no worry to them. We were too late to have anything to eat but the bar looked very welcoming. Got up to a lovely freshly cooked breakfast served by very efficient and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The hotel is VERY close to the main London to Birmingham railway line, if you don't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room had all the necessities. Inspite of the closeness to the high speed London railway line we were not bothered by the noise at the back of this nice old building. Breakfast was excellent. We had not found the mattress very comfortable but our feedback was received in a very positive way.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked the day before and had no expectations. Arrived late, but in time for a quiet drink in the bar. Good quality 'real ales' on. The staff were friendly, the room was clean & comfortable, the shower hot. Breakfast was served with a smile and very good. When I next need to stay in the area, I'll be booking in here. (didn't have a problem with train noise, due to my room being at the back)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back don't get the train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First visit to this restaurant .Welcomed by a lovely waitress,so polite and professional.
I had the bream which was cooked beautifully.Throughout the evening the waitress was attentive...
We will certainly return,compliments to the chef,very good food,cooked and presented to a high standard.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a 2 night stay here and were very happy with the hotel and all it had to offer. The rooms are clean, and well equipped. We found the staff to be very kind, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The food was excellent, with a great choice, and a really nice friendly bar to top things off. I think the hotel is very reasonably priced,and so the quality exceeded my expectations.
I was a bit concerned when I arrived about the noise from trains, as I'm usually a light sleeper, but ... the trains must have stopped as I slept like a baby both nights.
I would struggle to find anything to dislike really, if you expect the Ritz, then you should book (and pay for) the Ritz. This is a very friendly local Inn, with great food and friendly staff..... I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Address: 21, Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully spacious reasonably priced hotel in rural Northamptonshire, near the home of British Grand Prix - Silverstone. Fantastic dining, a relaxed atmosphere and a lively bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walnut Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.