We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and unfriendly receptionist” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Walnut Tree Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Walnut Tree Inn to your Saves list
The Walnut Tree Inn
21, Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misleading and unfriendly receptionist”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friend and I with our 8yr old and 14yr old daughters decided on this hotel as they had everything we needed, rooms, restaurant and entertainment. It was a midway point for us as we were meeting our husbands the following day. I called and booked, we were offered a table at 8.15pm either in the bar or the restaurant. We chose the restaurant and then we would move to the bar for entertainment. Excellent, helpful and booked. When we arrived we found it amusing how no one tells you the hotel is a road width away from a high speed electric rail line, Edinburgh to kings cross line I'm guessing which flew past every 10 minutes. We checked in to be then told children were not allowed in the bar after 9pm even though we were offered to dine in there, then we were told by a foreign receptionist that it is English law that children were not allowed in bars after 9pm and bluntly said that 'children should not be exposed to seeing people drink anyway'. We then said to her that we were residents in a hotel and residents can go to the bar anytime and the reason we booked is because it had entertainment rather than a bar and she walked away. My friend went to check the room to discovery 2 bugs under the duvet! We complained and the foreign lady was very abrupt shouting 'show me'. Yes they were still there. Another receptionist intervened and offered to change the linen and the bugs didn't come in the window as they are sealed! So where did they come from. She also suggested that our children sit in the room beside the entertainment while we took it in turns to go and see the band! Insisting that they have a cancellation policy and had to pay wether we stayed or not. We requested to see the owner and she said he was busy and would speak to him on our behalf however she would like us to stay and can see our children are not naughty and they will allow us in the bar. No thank you, you have bugs! we were leaving and not paying. Eventually she returned saying we could leave! Unbelievable. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
32
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with family as attending a weeding nearby. Rooms were massive, comfy and clean. The breakfast was the nicest full English we've ever had! The waitress was lovely and couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - will definitely return and reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a third visit and it has gone markedly better in the food area. Quality produce sourced locally with an interesting and varied menu and cooked well. Friendly efficient service, a busy bar and a reasonable band mad for a feeling of the Walnut Tree being a very complete venue for an evening out. So just one area where they fall short of 5 stars....not enough food ! The description a few reviews below of pork belly is spot on, and my partner had ravioli - all 3 of them! So just increase the portion sizes a bit without skimping on the quality and you'll be right up there. Very good though !

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We planned an over night stay as the Walnut Tree have entertainment every week, as we like reggae and they had the Mystic Crew performing we decided to make a night of it. The staff were very welcoming and treated us very well, they anticipated the bar being very busy that night and offered to book a table in the bar for our meal which we could then have for the evening during the entertainment, this was very much appreciated.

It's an old building, built in the mid 1800's to service the railway line which runs past outside, they have however accomodated the noise very well, it is barely audible although in the bedroom you could feel the shake from the high speed train it was well sound proofed and did not disturb us in any way. There was an area cleared in the bar for the band, the music was good the crowd were good, there was an interesting spread of ages too, the service from the bar was slow, twenty minutes for a drink and you had to fight to be seen. Clearing an area of the bar to queue for drinks as happens at some venues for entertainment nights would have been much fairer and quicker.

The room was a double, en-suite, comfortable bed, a pity the pillows were not feather, heating went off at 10.30 and although the radiator has a thermostat it was only of use when the heating was on. Plenty of room in the bedroom to accomodate a bigger bed, but it was a good nights sleep. Lighting eco friendly but a little dark for me, not a critcism as this is more commonplace at hotels generally. Room was clean, tea and coffee making facilites. The bedroom appeared to have been recently decorated, nice choice of colour tones, the room had a wardrobe, dresser, a chair and large mirror, but no bible. En suite bathroom has no heating so was freezing, very clean and roomy large shower cubicle but no water power, so didn't do the job for us as far as feeling clean went. Complimentary shampoo and shower gel, but you couldn't wash your hair as the flow wasn't enough, other couples also complained that the shower although lovely is insufficient.

Food, dinner was excellent, I can absolutely recommend the Baileys rice pudding it was amazing topped with honey ice cream, the food was of a high standard, probably helped by a minimalistic menu. The biggest chips I've ever been served. Breakfast was served between 8 and 10, I was disappointed although my husband felt it was adequate. The only juice was orange which I'm allergic to, but as the waitress was serving all tables alone the opportunity to ask if there was another option was lost. Fresh fruit was a bowl of pieces of fruit, yoghurt was on the menu but not available and the choice of cereal was limited, no pastries or cold meat. English breakfast was fine, sausage meaty but not amazing, the bacon was lovely and I rarely enjoy bacon at breakfast as it's usually too well cooked, choice of eggs I had scrambled, mushroom and tomato nice, small pot of baked beans, so a very basic traditional breakfast, no hash browns. However the quality was good. Toast and jams. Tea and coffee. I can't say I felt happily full although my husband who eats museli so had cereal to start was happy, so probably horses for courses. Typical pub prices for drinks, so fair.

The hotel itself was busy so obviously a popular choice, my absolute criticism is that the room at £85 for one night was expensive I would expect to pay £75 for the same accomodation, that said we would stay again, enjoyed our time there, really enjoyed the entertainment. Plenty of free parking on site, very clean historic building and customer service was a priority. I should imagine in the summer months using this as a base for walks would be popular.

Room Tip: To the back of the hotel seemed to be the best for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for great Sunday lunch at beginning of Jan & had fab main course & great chessboard - though amazing!

Last night paid £16.50 for main course of belly pork (2 minute slices on a cool plate), black pudding mash (sorry it was 3 squeezes), apple sauce (where was that) & turnip & carrot (2 cubes).

Could have finished the lot in 3 bites.

Now I know that you're trying to achieve fine dining but....

3 weeks ago also had the cheese board - amazing thick slices, plenty of crackers etc. Last night think the cheese was sliced with a peeler & 4 biscuits.

Wife's lamb about the same.

Come on Walnut Tree you're better than that...

As a final note the staff are fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Three of us went for lunch and we all really enjoyed the food and surroundings. Expect to wait a little for your meal as everything is cooked to order using locally sourced produce where possible. Service was good. Food was great and we all agreed we would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I went back to the the Walnut Tree inn for an evening meal after quite a few years since the last time we visited - even though we live locally. We had been attracted by the new menu delivered through a leaflet at our home and we thought we would give it a try. I am pleased to say that we had a good experience overall with both service and food being very attentive and good fare for the money. Choose either the bar or the restaurant to dine (same menu) so you can snack and appetize in the bar if you want to hear the live music (back end of the week or special weekends) or relax in the restaurant for a more intimate experience. We haven't stayed overnight so can't comment on the rooms but we were pleasantly surprised by the experience and we will return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Inn

Address: 21, Station Road, Northampton NN7 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully spacious reasonably priced hotel in rural Northamptonshire, near the home of British Grand Prix - Silverstone. Fantastic dining, a relaxed atmosphere and a lively bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Walnut Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walnut Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.