We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmaris BBQ

Marmaris BBQ
St. Giles Street, Northampton, England
01604 259 090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 394 restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Trip Advisor reviews pointed us there and once again they were right - our experience of Marmaris was utterly brilliant. We got there at about 9pm on a Friday and it was pleasantly busy. We ordered a bottle of (delicious) Turkish red and mulled over the menu. I chose a lamb kofte and the wife chose something exotic from the chef’s specials.

The guy who took our order was concerned that my wife might not like the unique and rich flavours of the dish she chose so he described it to her in greater detail – what fantastic service! My wife is very open-minded when it comes to food so had the dish anyway and absolutely loved it. Top marks to the waiter for being so considerate. My kofte too was one of the best I’ve ever had, as were the accompanying freshly made pitta breads, rice and salads.

I can’t recommend Marmaris high enough and can’t wait to go back, and I urge anyone reading this who likes middle-eastern food to do the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    65
    29
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“looks iffy but is surprisingly good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband has been raving about this place for years and is a popular start for him when on a civilized night out in Northampton. Its not my usual type of place and could do with a serious make over but it sort of grew on me in the end! The food was surprisingly great, I thought it would have been like a dodgy Kebab shop at the end of a Saturday night but it was amazing! It was really fresh and tasty. I have a son with multiple food allergies so we rarely eat out with him but it was all safe for him which is VERY hard to find. The waiter looked like his mum just told him off but with a bit of banter warmed up and made an effort to engage the kids which is bonus points in my book! I was over all really surprised by it and would go again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good quality authentic Turkish grub. Freshly cooked in front of you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fresh food really authentic. Real tasty Turkish food this is not really a restaurant it's more a dinner you keep your knife and fork and get a paper napkin. Your packed in and rushed out this place is very very popular. If your looking for great food then its fab. If your looking for a full evening of fine service then its not for you. The warm Turkish bread and onion is to die for !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always love the food, very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Always busy whenever I go, the Lamb chops are to die for! If you can really eat or go as a group I would definitely recommend the mains platter (sorry I forgot the name) so you get a bit of everything including ribs, wings, etc. Not keen with the salad as a side but the nan bread and the rice are the best I've ever had (I always ask for more rice and I am a Chinese!).

Love the Turkish tea there too, if there are any parking available for visitors I would definitely come more often.

PS always a queue for takeaways during Thur - Sat evenings too so beware of the busy hours as there is only 1 massive grill and 1 chef for all the order!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best food in the town centre - by a mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I eat in this place every month or so. The mixed grill (most expensive menu item) @ £13 is excellent. With Lamb Pieces, Chicken wings, Kofta Kebeb, Lamb ribs, cooked onions, salad and rice, this is a very large meal and excellent. All the food is cooked over charcoal, and the mixed meze is also very good. The place is small so I would book and ask for a table downstairs. This is a top place for simple, but excellently prepared food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmaris BBQ also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Marmaris BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmaris BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.