We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as nice as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buddies USA

Buddies USA
A508 London Road | Grange Park, Northampton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 403 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“not as nice as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my fella have been fans of Buddies (all sites) for years. But recently we have been to Grange Park and the Town Centre ones and they have changed, for the worse.
Burgers seem to be smaller, weith a fair bit of grissle in them. The BBQ pulled pork was fatty, not the usual lean pork. Chips are smaller portions, and cold. coleslaw seems mass produced, not the old hand made stuff. But prices have gone up
On the plus side, service is fast and the place is clean.
But something has changed. Put it back to the winning recipe please :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    13
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“its ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

chairs are uncomfy, but quick service, and great for kids with all the toys and cartoon charaters hanging from the ceiling.

you also get trivil persuit to play with on every table while waiting for your dinner!! love it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oh how the mighty have fallen.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This restaurant was once one of my favorites. However I have made a few visits recently, and on every occasion the food has been cold and fairly tasteless. It is very disappointing because it was once a brilliant restaurant. Plus, to add insult to injury, it seems the prices have only increased over the years. What was once a justified bill for a good meal, now seems to leave me feeling like I may as well have gone to Mc Donalds and saved a few pounds.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Been loads of times, it use to be a ritual when I can back from working away. The steaks use to be top but that has all changed. Burgers use to be so huge you had to have your chips on a second plate, it actually reminded me of an American diner... Not now, they have changed the menu (or the ingredients supplier) so many times for the cheaper it's not even the same place anymore. Steaks are thin and chewy and unless you pay extra for your burger you can't find it. Big shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This review is for the sixfields Buddies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I love Buddies but this experiance was awful, the service was slow and and the waitress didn't seem to want to be there, I had three drinks while I was there and when I left all three glasses where still there. She'd turned off the coffee machine before asking us if we wanted coffee. I asked for mayonaise which seemed to be an inconvienience for her. Food was delicious apart from the cheap Ice cream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddies USA also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Old Stratford, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Buddies USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddies USA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.