We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some TLC and staff that cares more about guest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northampton Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Northampton Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northampton Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Northampton
Villingen-Schwenningen, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC and staff that cares more about guest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed at many Marriott hotels all over the world mainly for business purpose. While it's really hard to find a good hotel in UK (they seem overall not a country that cares about hospitality) this Marriott still falls short to my expectations paying the premium staying in one.

What I liked
- Marriott beds
- Nice size of rooms
- Nice hotel layout in the middle of the country side
- Relaxing atmosphere
- Quick and efficient cleaning of the rooms
- 8 different beers on tap
- Nice size TV
- free parking
- free internet because I am a Platin Marriott member

What I did not like
- no WLAN in the rooms (yes you heard right! You need a cable and are forced to sit at the table)
- only one Internet connection allowed (either Laptop or i-Phone or i-Pad)
- Mildew in the corners of the bathroom
- Stains of the carpets
- Air conditioner out of order
- Windows can only be opened very limited
- Sat in the bar and had to ask 3 times to be served
- Restaurant closed on Sunday afternoons although the webpage advertises differently
- Staff is cleaning the restaurant with a vacuum while guests are there (a no no in my eyes/ears)
- Internet price if I wouldn't be a platin member

I probably would stay here again when I am in the region but only because most of the hotels around here are not better. I will try the Best Western in Milton-Keynes next time though and then will report here.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the highway. Try to get one which is opposite to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    87
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
32
65
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Marriott in Northampton. I had booked two rooms for a family of five only in the morning via the Marriott reservation line. The hotel was very full and had no connecting rooms available which I was already told at the time of booking. When we arrived we were a little concerned as you could see the disco-lights of a wedding party already from the car-park. We needn't have had to worry as we didn't here a thing during the night. As the very nice receptionist said, they had put most of the wedding guests in one wing, and the rest in the other.

Double beds are huge and very comfortable.

Took the kids for a swim in the pool. The pool master went out of his way to get some floaters for the kids. Towels are provided for at the pool. Excellent service.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Fresh croissants and eggs fried to order.

We will return if we pass by again. Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor spread over two wings. Some face the motorway in the distance, and some f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here - the stay were very friendly and always willing to give assistance and the room was comfortable and clean. Food was Ok - pretty standard, though breakfast was better than average. I was travelling on business and would recommend to other business travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile


Room was lovely with good lounge area and a bed that was huge and very comfortable.

Food was "OK" but service was slow for our bar meal. Breakfast was fine though with plenty of choice and good service.

One word of warning. The hotel does brisk trade in budget (tuxedo and tattoo) weddings so the whole tone and ambience of he place can be defined by the behavior of wedding guests. This makes for excellent people watching opportunities though.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Have stayed at various Marriotts all over the world and this was sub standard.
Check in was efficient & friendly.
Room was very cool & i turned the thermostat up on the air con - this didn't work so we turned the air con off completely.
There was a continuous whistling noise of a vent or something similar but we couldn't find the source.
We arrived for a meal at the brasserie at 19.15 to be told there was a private party & we couldn't eat in the restaurant until 20.00, but could have restaurant menu in the bar. Not ideal as only seats available were stools.
After perusing the menu for 10 minutes we were then told we could eat in the brasserie after all.
Food was mediocre,lacked seasoning and uninspiring.
The bedroom was still very cold on return so we tried to phone reception for a heater to find the phones didn't work.
My son had to go to reception to order a heater ( which duly arrived ) and go to reception again to ask for room service. This was not questioned by reception so maybe its a common problem with the phones.
Only positives are location, cleanliness and comfortable bed.
This Marriott needs to get its act together.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Long weekend down in Northampton to make use of a Silverstone Experience voucher. Had stayed at the Mariott before and found it to be good, if a bit unexceptional. This stay was a bit disappointing in some ways.

The plus points - a great location and very easy to get to various pounts in Northamptonshire and beyond due to the proximity of the M1. Hotel itself is located at the edge of parkland with a nice outdoor seated area leading from the conservatory bar area. Plenty of parking at the front. Excellent breakfast and staff were generally quite helpful and friendly.

The downsides - well from arrival. Due to rainy conditions a bridal party were huddled under the entrance porch with their cigarettes, bride included, and did not look happy in moving. Indeed the party had taken over the whole lobby area, making check-in quite difficult. There were possibly three bridal parties in full swing as we saw other brides wandering around. A stronger managerial steer would have ensured that they stayed closer to the function rooms.

There seemed to be a problem clearing room service trays from outside bedrooms - one sat in our corridor for 10 hours. On the final night we found blood stains and holes in our duvet cover - it frankly should have been binned. We had lunch in the conservatory on the Sunday which was pleasant, but only part of the meal arrived and the waitress seemed very doubtful when we pointed out that naans and popodoms were meant to be served with the Tikka Masala- three of each eventually arrived to be shared between two of us ?! We gave up on the Chutney which was also meant to have been part of the meal.

There seemed to be a only limited number of staff available and it looked at points as if the hotel was trying to tackle too much. Additional staff training and product knowledge would help. Some of the carpets looked as if they had seen better days and some public areas could benefit from a refurb.

Room Tip: Try and stay on the side facing the parkland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Located next to Beackmills estate this is convenient for business trips, easy to get to from the M1. Staff are friendly and bar area comfortable. Sadly the overall feel is a bit tired with the pool and Jacuzzi area looking particularly grubby during my stay. Room was a little small although had a very comfortble bed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northampton Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northampton Marriott Hotel

Address: Eagle Drive, Northampton NN4 7HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#4 Business Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Northampton Marriott Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Northampton Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Northampton
Northampton Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northampton Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.