We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic theatre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal & Derngate Theatre

Royal & Derngate Theatre
Guildhall Road, Northampton NN1 1DP, England
01604 624811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Attractions in Northampton
Attraction details
Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
“A classic theatre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Have been here to see lee evans as well as taking my daughters to watch countless xmas pantos and it is a fabulous place situated right in the centre of town with ample car parks very nearby.I have a soft spot for this particular theatre.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    90
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“60 s show at Royal and Derngate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived at the theatre to find that Gerry Marsden was taken ill and would not be appearing. As we already knew that Chip Hawkes too was ill , we were disappointed and thought the show might not be so good. However we were totally blown away with the wonderful performances we saw. First the Pacemakers sang some of their songs, great vocals and good instrumentals. Then P J Proby came on and sang lots of songs and was really good. He must have been worn out because he put his all into them and really entertained us with his hits and other well known tunes. Then Steve Ellis from Love Affair came on and again belted out lots of their hits. After the interval The Animals were on, and we thought without Eric Burdon especially, could they be that good? Well we were treated to a wonderful 2nd half of classic Animals singles and the great vocals of their singer Peter. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole show and would have gladly watched it again the next night if it had been on fo 2 nights. Finally we do send our thoughts to Gerry and Chip to get better soon .

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tribute act and shows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tribute act and shows were all very good seating good, sound good. Parking near by. Just filling out to achieve a 100 words

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
1 review
“Dirty Dancing 1/11/12”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to Dirty Dancing on 1st Nov 2012, totally amateur performance, poor dancing ,seemed to use same steps for every dance. Two very average singers. There was no scenery no decent lighting no musicians, just a karioke machine, like a night out at a working mens club. have written to Derngate for a refund , 4 adult tickets

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dirty dancing show at derngate northampton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

this was a terrible perfomance the dancers were poor it was like watching a childrens school performance. the dancers had no idea at some parts of the show how to dance. the main singers were not to bad. we as a party was mis-lead we all thought it was a dirty dancing show not a singing and if you could call it a dancing show. we have all requested our money back as we walked out during the show. we were not the only ones to complain there was quite a lot of people moaning to the staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal & Derngate Theatre also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Royal & Derngate Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal & Derngate Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.