We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
A TripAdvisor Member
“Cheaper option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Only live locally approx 12 miles away,this was cheaper than taxi. Lovely big bed very comfortable, lots of hot water and quiet. Get parking ticket validated at reception for cheaper parking. Breakfast advertised at £7.20 but offered for £5 at time of check in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis in Northampton and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Piotr Latka - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    143
    115
    55
    46
See reviews for
26
99
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

To be honest you do get what you pay for in - and this is a cheap hotel in the centre on Northampton and the decor and standards in the hotel reflect that. If you are unlucky enough to have a room near the lifts you do hear other guests particularly at weekends. Breakfast isnt particularly special either - you eat near the exit to go the carpark which can we drafty particularly in the winter. The staff are not very friendly and really do not go out of their way to help or assist you.
The rooms are adequate but most rooms overlook the roof of the carpark.
Only book if you are desperate!!!

Room Tip: Only book if you really can not find somewhere else to go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis in Northampton. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Kind regards, Piotr Latka - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is in a good position for the city centre . The rooms are comfortable and quite if you get an inner room , if you get an outer room you will here the road traffic . Breakfast is good nice and hot from the buffet eat as much as you like .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis in Northampton and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Piotr Latka - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was having a training meeting and using the reception area and buying teas/coffees,& Lunch and we were due to book in 2 of staff for a weeks stay,but!! we ask the receptionist for coffee and she very rudely said "what is your room number" we said we don't have one because we just having a meeting here and would be booking in on Monday. with that she reluctantly gave us the coffee 20 minutes later and surprise!, surprise!IT WAS COLD not only that we had a pot of coffee and milk but the milk was already in the coffee pot very bazaar!! we then took it back and she said very rudely it was hot when i gave it to you. she then continued ranting to colleagues about us we were so embarrassed and disgusted we ask to the manager and was told does not work on Sundays and she refused to give her and managers name so we left, we also over heard many other complaints about the service in this hotel over the weekend i suggest you avoid hence we did not book in there lost!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis in Northampton. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Kind regards, Piotr Latka - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

In September, 2012, I had to visit Northampton for a business meeting on a Monday. This hotel is a short walk from the rail station, and is equidistant from the station and the town centre of Northampton.

The hotel is part of a major complex, on the old Barclaycard site. The building houses a multiplex cinema (Vue), restaurants,health clubs, and the hotel, all under 1-roof. I accessed the hotel from the road (Mare Fair), but it can also be accessed from the large indoor car park, which is part of the major complex.

This is a very large hotel so I was concerned that it would be a bit soulless. But, the welcome front-of-house was warm and informative. Staff showed good local knowledge of the area, and were able to advise me about my how to get to my appointment the next day, efficiently - excellent front of house.

In my room I was disappointed with some wall damage, that had not been decorated and the filler (powder) got onto my black suit when I brushed past it.

My room was large by IBIS standards, and had a well fitted shower room, see pictures. No IBIS shower bod, which I have a love hate relationship with.

Also, I discovered the new beds that where being introduced across the IBIS brand. I found them very comfortable and had a good nights sleeps, each night.

I would have no problem recommending the accommodation to colleagues of business partners.

But, I do have 1 recommendation

- The dinning/breakfast is not proportional to the hotel size. I had to wait in the Morning for a breakfast. This is a small problem, but would be nice to see a little effort in addressing it in the long term.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis in Northampton and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Piotr Latka - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room size good, shower size good. Bed high, but comfortable. Extra pillows and towels provided and used. Only a few tv channels, so not much to choose from. Snack menu, very limited. Window didn't close and I was kept awake all night by the nearby nightclub and street noise. Curtains had holes in them, not sure if they were moth eaten or cigarette burns. Bedside lamps were wonky. Room phone didn't work. Only one small bin provided with was not adequate. Had to find a plastic bag to put my rubbish in. Sofa had unknown stains on it. The carpet was worn with a few small holes. Tea and coffee provided, but not any water. Wardrobe only had 2 coat hangers, once of which was grubby and couldn't be used. The shower cubicle was large, but didn't drain properly, so the bathroom floor was flooded when taking a shower. Also the shower head kept moving round on its own accord and spraying the walls with water as the shower door was only a half size door. Small bar of soap provided and a used bottle of shower gel. The soap dispenser attached to the wall of the shower was empty. No extractor fan in the bathroom. The towels were too small to fit around my body. The breakfast was horrid. Tea and orange juice were nasty in taste. the mini croissants were good. A self serve hot buffet, with very limited choice was provided. I only had the scrambled eggs and they were runny and undercooked. Other guests could be heard walking the corridors late at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisNorthamptonGM, General Manager at Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis in Northampton. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Kind regards, Piotr Latka - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre

Address: Sol Central Marefair, Northampton NN1 1SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Northampton Centre is conveniently located in Northampton Town Centre, just five minutes walk from the train station, and less than ten miles from the M1 Motorway. The hotel offers 151 comfortably appointed rooms with en-suite bathrooms, flat-screen TVs, and high-speed internet access. The hot buffet breakfast is served from 6:30am – 10am daily and the café bar serves hot meals 24 hours a day. Located in the ‘Sol Central’ complex the hotel is in the heart of the town with a cinema, gym and restaurants next door. Guests can workout or relax in the Topnotch health club above the hotel for just £5 per person. Sol Central also offers secure parking with direct access to the hotel for only £5.50 per day for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.