We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Are You Being Served?

Are You Being Served?
62 St. Giles St., Northampton NN1 1JW, England
+44 1604 628854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 403 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Vegan, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Tea Room, Family Fare, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Made very welcome plenty food and box provided to take left over cakes home that we did not finish that afternoon nice treat for my daughetr and myself

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    4
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best afternoon teas ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit today and it won't be our last. We decided to have an afternoon tea as a bit if a treat and it certainly was. The sandwiches are all freshly made. The bread was lovely and soft. There was a variety of fillings and you get a choice or you can do as we did and just had a selection if all.
The variety of homemade cakes and scone were wonderful. You get real clotted cream with the scone and plenty of it.
The atmosphere inside was relaxed and friendly. Wendy seemed to know everyone who came in.
We will definitely be returning to sample some of the other meals on the menu.
We have had afternoon tea in other local cafes and this one was head and shoulders above the rest.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A genuine local cafe with homemade food and a really good cup of tea! We've had both lunch and afternoon tea here and have been very pleased with both. We enjoyed the homemade cake so much we had to look up the recipe on the BBC website and make it ourselves. For the afternoon tea we were asked if there were any particular sandwiches we wanted and with the scones and cakes it was so filling that when offered more we had to admit defeat and refuse. Well worth a visit!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our little piece of heaven in Northampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our little piece of heaven in Northampton, Lovely food and very friendly service.
Different specials & home made soups each day plus fabulous cakes.
Why bother cooking when you can eat so well at Are You Being Served

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My partner & I sought this cafe out after reading the excellent reviews on TA and i can honestly say we wish we hadnt bothered. The inside of the cafe isnt very big but was nicely decorated. Lots of staff behind the counter but getting their attention proved a challenge. Environment was spoilt by the manageress/owner shouting orders and instructions very loudly at her staff.
Menu is limited but varied enough.
Both my partner & I chose poached egg priced at £2.10 and were asked on ordering if we wanted one or two slices of toast and opted for 2. Food arrived promptly enough but we were disappointed to find that the toast used was regular run of the mill cheap medium sliced. The plate wasnt dressed at all - food was very poorly presented.
At least the food was hot and the eggs relatively tasty.
Eventually we managed to get the waitresses attention & the bill and were somewhat suprised to note that the cost for the poached eggs had been doubled - without a word said. Poached egg on toast twice and a pot of tea for 2 - £12.00.
Had the sevice/quality of the food been better I wouldnt have minded paying £12.00 but what we were served wasnt worth anywhere near that.
Ultimately this is just another standard cafe with delusions of grandeur which i'd advise you to steer clear of. There are plenty of establishments close by that offer far better quality for a much more reasonable amout....i'd opt for one of them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Are You Being Served? also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Are You Being Served?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Are You Being Served?, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.