We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak, no beef about it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franks Steakhouse

Franks Steakhouse
176 Wellingborough Road, Northampton NN14DZ, England
01604949804
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 405 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Daventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Steak, no beef about it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our second visit to this restaurant. The steaks are incredible, sides a little small and a bit hit and miss. Service was ok, a few small issues like the card machine not working and not being told until we were going to pay.. luckily we enough cash to cover it. We also asked for our steak bones and small amount of left over steak to be wrapped and given in doggy bag... this was thrown away.

Overall the steaks make up for the other slight niggles. If you love your steak you WILL love it here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    53
    35
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great food and service, good location close too town centre.
Best fillet steak. Go for the jumbo prawn yummy yummy.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Notch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dined here last night with my girlfriend and her family (Sunday 24.02.13) after a really busy days work. We didnt book and just chanced our arm and couldnt have been more welcomed by staff and management. We all had steak which was cooked to perfection and exatly how we had specified. We took our time throughout the meal and this again didnt seem to be a problem (have been to other resturants on a sunday when they want you out the door by 19:00 THIS WASNT THE CASE). We ended our meals with dessert which was equally as good as the main course. Would recommend Franks Steakhouse to anybody, if you love steak you will love franks!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsthorpe, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, what more could you ask for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had gotten to the stage where the only steak I could enjoy was one that I cooked myself at home, as most restaurants never quite cook it how you ask for it. Not so with Franks, this is the best steak that I have had for years. The starters were great, all steaks cooked to perfection, and the colcannon mash was to die for. The menu is a little limited if you don't like steaks, although there are a few other choices, but hey this is a steak restaurant, and they do the best steaks in town. The service is also first class, and with a great atmosphere makes for a great night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great, as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've found myself start to become a regular little customer for this place. I love a good steak and I love it cooked well- if you're the same then dine here. Short of going to Argentina, its the best beef for miles. I love the way they use lots of Northamptonshire produce from Nobbys ale to Farringtons oil. They are a pioneer to be supported, and a restaurant Northampton is lucky to have. See you all again as soon as possible! Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franks Steakhouse also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Franks Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franks Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.