We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to eat fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen Adelaide

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Queen Adelaide
50 Manor Road | Kingsthorpe, Northampton NN2 6QJ, England
01604714524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 404 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to eat fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have eaten here many times now and it never disappoints this is a lovely pub with a welcoming atmosphere the food is superb and fantastic value for money the clientele are warm and welcoming I would recommend this as a number one place to eat and drink

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Always try and visit the Adelaide when I'm in Northampton - took my family for a lunch on a Saturday. Know what to expect having been here many times - but essentially a nice pub with a great range of real ale and ciders, and good honest pub grub - a nice menu that promises traditional staples and a few other things.

Started with a pint of whitebait which thankfully I shared - MASSIVE potion and stunning value. Family members had the bacon wrapped chicken with Boursin cheese, and the haddock and chips. I had the steak and Stilton pie. Superb food, nothing flashy, just great tasting, large portions and excellent value for money. I will go here again and again.

Very highly recommended, well worth seeking out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing is too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a place that I have never been disappointed with. I have eaten here many times, the menu is full of good home cooked food, with friendly staff and and very reasonable prices its a must for any night of the week. It is worth booking as it is on the small side but with outside dining when the weather allows its just a great place to eat

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Impressive pub and lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a superb meal and cannot speak highly enough of the knowledgeable and friendly staff. A smashing place with an extensive range of real ales. Only one downside and that was the state of the gents toilets. Very clean, but swimming in water (well I hope it was water!) on the floor from leaking urinals/pipes. Surely not difficult to put right? However my wife said that there were no such problems in the Ladies. Credit where it is due though, overall a very enjoyable visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic pub, good grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is exactly as a pub should be. I am a fairly regular customer so and have tried most of the menu over the years. There is a really good menu and the food is all made to order from fresh and fairly local (where possible) produce. There's also a good selection of real ales, lagers and continental beers. One comment is that there is not as much rotation on their selection of ales as perhaps the more discerning ale drinker would like and they can be a bit football phobic. The place is definitely a very strong 9.5/10. If you're making a trip down and want food it's worth calling ahead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen Adelaide also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Queen Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.