We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Northampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Northampton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Northampton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“hotel stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel solo and I must say the staff was very pleasant. Check-in and out was quick and I have no complaints except maybe for the broken window, couldn't open it. Kudos to cleaning lady who offered some fresh towels when she heard me talking. Brought some extra soaps and biscuits. Food was OK and all in all nice hotel for a nice price

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaidiS12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Elle D

Thank you posting your review on tripadvisor,the whole team are delighted that you had a great stay with us. We try to offer our guests excellent service to make your stay as memorable as possible. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    79
    70
    19
    8
See reviews for
50
60
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

One night stay in a standard room. Check-in and check-out staff pleasant and courteous.
Room was in need of a major update. Stained carpets, Only heat was a convector heater, Bathroom small and stained / scuffed fittings. No individual toiletries and no face cloth. Heard every cough and sneeze from next door and shared their 6am packing and check-out experience. At check-in a form asked for my choice of newspaper - no idea why as it was not delivered (and I didn't see any other in the corridor as I left at 7.30). Double bed with only 2 small pillows (I did find a third in the wardrobe).
Overall not up to HI standards in many other properties and I would have been better off in the HI express or Hilton down the road.

Room Tip: Avoid until refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaidiS12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear langdalelad

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations,your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We attended a xmas party night on 14th December. We had been told we would have a private room for 13 of us but we were placed in main room. The music in here was so loud we couldn't talk throughout the meal, which was unfortunate. One of our group is hard of hearing which made the evening awkward for him. The food was average, but the portions were good. There was a long time inbetween courses The disco afterwards was good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaidiS12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear karendunn39

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We offered you a private room initially as we thought that we might not be able to accommodate your group in the main room due to high booking levels however after reorganising the entire seating plan we managed to place your table in the main room close to DJ and disco, this is normally most desired area, had you informed us of your preferences i can assure you that we would have done our best to accommodate your request. I apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Please be assured that your comments regarding food quality have been noted and are forwarded to head chef.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed with my partner for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) in a 1st floor room. The hotel is just off the motorway so was easy to find. It has plenty free parking, the car park we always very busy but never too full.
The check in process was quick and easy. Staff were polite. The bedding was clean etc but the sheets had seen better days - holes in them. The bathroom - very clean, good shower (power and temperature) but the sink was cracked with a slightly dodgy tap. Couldn't fault the other features. The thin that was really missing was a decent wifi connection.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear geordieontour

Thank you posting your review on tripadvisor, I am delighted to know that you had pleasant stay and found our staff to be polite.

I apologise for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you encountered and have forwarded your comments to relevant department heads, who will ensure that these issues are looked into and will not be experienced by other guests in future.

With regards to Internet issue, this is now being investigated by our internet service provider and will be resolved very soon.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback as it helps us to improve products and services we offer to all our guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many Thanks

Kind Regards,
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I only stopped here for 1 night and the hotel is OK but the heater in the room was very noisy and the food again was just Ok. I would stop here again if I was working in the area but would probably eat elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Shanksmoon

I am sorry that you found our food average, you comments regarding both maintenance and food have been noted and will help us improve products we offer to our guests, once again thank you for posting
your review on trip advisor and we look forward to welcome you back soon - Many Thanks

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I only stayed here for one night it was very average. Rooms were ok. The breakfast was very nice although we were shown to a table that wasn't set up for 7 and the staff made no attempt to adjust the settings which I had to do-poor restaurant service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear putty1967

Thank you for posting your review, firstly i would like to apologise for the inconvenience during breakfast service.I have discussed this with restaurant team and have implemented corrective measures to stop this from happening in future.

I was glad that you enjoyed rest of the facilities, Once again please accept my apologies for shortfall in service and thank you for sharing your expereince.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel staff were welcoming & professional in the main. The room was clean & comfortable. Unfortunately the evening meal was appalling - there was a private party in the main dining room & other guests were asked to eat in a separate (meeting) room. The service was incredibly slow & lacking in grace - we were an inconvenience. When my selected salmon arrived it was grey & quite disgusting to look at & taste, consequently I left it all. The waitress then told us that a dessert was not part of the deal!!! After a little discussion we managed some ice-cream. Perhaps we should have gone out for a meal - however it was very cold, it had been a long day & we did not have transport. I think the hotel should review if they can cope with party bookings & individual guests. After a good & comfortable nights sleep breakfast was tasty with good & varied choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear dants111

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We look forward to receiving reviews, to assist us in identifying any concerns Guests may have. I am surprised to hear of your experience with regards to food and service as we do normally receive good feedback about both.I have sent you a private message requesting you to contact me directly so that we can discuss this matter further.

I was happy to hear that everything else was to standard.

Many Thanks
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Northampton

Address: Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near to central Northampton you'll find all you need for a comfortable night s stay either for business or pleasure at the Northampton Holiday Inn Hotel. An ideal base for all visiting motor enthusiast near to Silverstone, home of the British Grand Prix, Santa Pod and Rockingham . Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel is also Near to Northampton town The Lakes, Brackmills, Riverside, Moulton Park & Grange Park Business Centres, yet only 5 Miles from Junction 15 of the M1 . The Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel provides Quality hotel rooms with the luxury of a choice of king sized bed or two queen size double beds. Business customers will find all the facilities required including high speed internet , working desks in all rooms as well as a multi gym to work out in For weekend breaks relax and enjoy bed and breakfast at your leisure before visiting the sights or taking in an event. At the hotel we are also equipped to host meetings for up to 70 people, & banqueting functions for up to 120 with really competitive hotel rates . The Hotel offers WIFI Internet access in the lounge area & business centre available 24hr a day.Local attractions include: Castle Ashby House & Gardens, Wicksteed Park, Billing Aquadrome, Althorp House and Nene Whitewater Rafting Centre, Silverstone & Santa Pod. You'll find all you need in a Hotel - A quality location for a quality stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel Northampton
Northampton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.