We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling meal!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Northampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Northampton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Northampton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Appalling meal!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel staff were welcoming & professional in the main. The room was clean & comfortable. Unfortunately the evening meal was appalling - there was a private party in the main dining room & other guests were asked to eat in a separate (meeting) room. The service was incredibly slow & lacking in grace - we were an inconvenience. When my selected salmon arrived it was grey & quite disgusting to look at & taste, consequently I left it all. The waitress then told us that a dessert was not part of the deal!!! After a little discussion we managed some ice-cream. Perhaps we should have gone out for a meal - however it was very cold, it had been a long day & we did not have transport. I think the hotel should review if they can cope with party bookings & individual guests. After a good & comfortable nights sleep breakfast was tasty with good & varied choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear dants111

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We look forward to receiving reviews, to assist us in identifying any concerns Guests may have. I am surprised to hear of your experience with regards to food and service as we do normally receive good feedback about both.I have sent you a private message requesting you to contact me directly so that we can discuss this matter further.

I was happy to hear that everything else was to standard.

Many Thanks
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    79
    70
    19
    8
See reviews for
50
60
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

have been staying at the holiday inn bedford road for the past 5 years on a regular basis. this hotel is always my first choice due to the excellent staff and service you get. this is especially directed at Farid, Sophie, Renata, Jewal and Lydia. i have know them for many years and they are always super helpful, see you all again soon, Rob PaperlinX

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear r f

Thank you for your wonderful comments, especially in relation to the staff, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience. I can assure you that entire team will be delighted and thrilled with your feedback.
Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November 2012 and found the room lovely. I have stayed in a few other holiday inn and they are pretty much the same. I loved the power shower and the room was very spacious. We booked this room on a hotel website and got the room at a fraction of the full price. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Sara271084

Thank you for your review it's fantastic to hear you had a great stay,i am delighted you found our rooms comfortable, I will definately pass on your positive feedback to the team. Once gain thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor,we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Many Thanks
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel about 5 times during 2012, and very happy with it. Rooms were always clean, stuff very helpful, good value for money if booked in advance.
Will definitely stay again here.
Regards, Stanislav.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Stani7lav

Thank you for posting a fantastic 5* review!!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognised.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on buisness, the staff were very friendly and helpfull, probably not quite as attentive as I would like. The food on an evening is largely Indian based with in house Indian chefs so the standards fine, starters are a little pricey considering portion size but o.k.

Self service breakfast is good the full English is more than adequate, plenty on offer. My bedroom was very large and had two doubles in it, the hotel isn't fancy but is kept together well. If your not paying top prices don't expect top surroundings, perfectly clean and adequate, wouldn't hesitate staying here again, downside is there's no leisure facilities so can be a little boring if your on your Todd. Great links and easy to find with sat nav, a better by glass wine selection would have be my only criticism.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear jimmydean86

Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased that you had a good overall stay.

We have a genuinely friendly team who want to ensure a great stay for our guests and it is always a boost to us when this is recognised. I will of course share your comments with the team.

Your comments regarding attentiveness of staff have been noted and appropriate training is being carried out to address this shortfall.

Our Indian menu which features a range of authentic Indian Cuisine, freshly prepared by an experience team of chefs and is very popular due to excellent Quality and Taste, we also have Holiday inn menu which features different cuisines, i would recommend you to try this on your next visit.

For other readers benefit we have a mini gym which is located on the ground floor,I was so pleased to learn that you found are rooms clean, spacious and comfortable.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Well, where do i start, checked the Hotel, checked the reviews thought ok lets book !!! what a mistake !!

Arrived at reception, friendly check in then proceeded to my Excecutive room, where the word executive came from is anybodys guess, maybe one of the parcels under the Christmas tree !!!

The following faults were noted and then reception was called:

1,Window didnt open.
2,Water ingress from the window frame and soffit.
3,Heater makes a sound like a cement mixer with bricks in it.
4,Convector wall heater didnt work.
5,Room was on a slant to such an extent the drawers opened by themselves !! and the Hotel had fixed BLUE TAK to the inside of the drawer to keep it shut !!
6,The decor in the room was like something from the 1970s!!! maybe it was part of one of a themed night or maybe not !!!


When i called reception i spoke to a nice chap who apologised and said it was the best one they had at the time, this was despite advertising as an EXECUTIVE room on their website, if that was one of the best i would hate to see the worst !!

To top it all when i arrived for breakfast to the LARGE restuarant i was advised there was no seats for 1 x person, despite there being plenty of tables for 2 or more available, i was told the wait would be approx 20mins !! I LEFT.

I then checked out, voiced my concearns at reception and they knocked £20 off the bill !!


Word of warning, if you need a HOTEL in Northampton


AVOID THE HOLIDAY INN ........................

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear 3goals

Firstly please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay, i am extremely disappointed to read that you had a poor stay.

All our executive rooms have king size bed and are offered complementary Package which includes Chocolate,juice, sparkling water, still water,bath robes, slippers and toiletries,I am sure that above were offered to you in your room. When you called reception and informed Raj that you were not happy with the offerings, he immediately gave you £20 refund which was taken off from your bill and you were charged for standard room instead,had you informed of other issues in your room we would have offered an alternative, rest assured your concerns regarding maintenance have been noted and are being investigated.

I hope you will agree that not many guest appreciate sharing a table with other guests, so in morning when you saw two or more free spaces they were occupied and were being used by other individual guests, my breakfast supervisor offered you breakfast in Bar area as she understood that you could not afford to wait, this was declined and you made a complaint to reception manager who offered further £12.95 refund which you accepted however you left your details and asked to be contacted by hotel management, at 4:00 PM Duty Manager called you and apologised for the inconvenience you encountered and offered further £20 refund on your bill which you accepted,In total hotel refunded £52.95 from your bill.

Again had you informed us of any problems we would have moved you to another room, I am happy that you found Raj to be friendly and that every time you approached us with any problem it was resolved.

Can you kindly give me a call directly on 01604622777 so that i can discuss this matter with you in more detail.

Our priority is always comfort of our guests however on this occasion we clearly failed to meet your expectations but i do hope that you will give us another opportunity.

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor, and i look forward to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The room was really spacious, clean and had 2 easy chairs which is a bonus!. The bathroom was clean but somewhat dated. This was not a problem for us but might be for some.
The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The cost of the room was very reasonable.
The restaurant however is very expensive and we probably would have eaten elsewhere had it not been for the awful weather.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to a busy road so it may be wise to ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPS-M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Kath G

I am so delighted with your feedback as this is how we want all our guests to feel, with regards to restaurant charges we price our self comparing to all of our local competitors,i am sorry that you found our menu expensive however i would like to inform you that we have 3 different menus
1.Bar and Lounge
2.Holiday Inn
3.Indian menu
In future please try other menus as prices on all menus vary.

Thank you for posting such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Syed Zaidi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Northampton

Address: Bedford Road, Northampton NN4 7YF, England (Formerly Courtyard)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near to central Northampton you'll find all you need for a comfortable night s stay either for business or pleasure at the Northampton Holiday Inn Hotel. An ideal base for all visiting motor enthusiast near to Silverstone, home of the British Grand Prix, Santa Pod and Rockingham . Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel is also Near to Northampton town The Lakes, Brackmills, Riverside, Moulton Park & Grange Park Business Centres, yet only 5 Miles from Junction 15 of the M1 . The Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel provides Quality hotel rooms with the luxury of a choice of king sized bed or two queen size double beds. Business customers will find all the facilities required including high speed internet , working desks in all rooms as well as a multi gym to work out in For weekend breaks relax and enjoy bed and breakfast at your leisure before visiting the sights or taking in an event. At the hotel we are also equipped to host meetings for up to 70 people, & banqueting functions for up to 120 with really competitive hotel rates . The Hotel offers WIFI Internet access in the lounge area & business centre available 24hr a day.Local attractions include: Castle Ashby House & Gardens, Wicksteed Park, Billing Aquadrome, Althorp House and Nene Whitewater Rafting Centre, Silverstone & Santa Pod. You'll find all you need in a Hotel - A quality location for a quality stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Northampton Hotel Northampton
Northampton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.