We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GianBiaz Ristorante

GianBiaz Ristorante
256 Wellingborough Road, Northampton NN1 4EJ, England
01604 633900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 404 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
northampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hi - went to Gian Biaz on Saturday night - had a lovely starter of Prawns and Mozzarello with salad - very tasty, would have liked the prawns peeled but that's a personal preference. Then had the classic Bolognaise which was very tasty... Good meal, well priced and nice ambience in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    35
    17
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used a groupon evening meal voucher but you are treated as well as when you are paying the full fee, unlike some restaurants where you are treated less favourably. The food was lovely and the service was attentive but not pushy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Northampton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having been eating at this restaurant for over 20 years, and it just seems to get better and better. Food is delicious with lots of choice and great service. Gianni and Biazi are two genuinely great hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. Have had wonderful family events and celebrations over the years. We never get tired of going there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Used a groupon lunch voucher which was brilliant value for money. Lovely, fresh food, good portion size, brilliant service. Would definitely recommend. Fresh home-cooked Italian food. Yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An all round good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have visited this restaurant several times over the years, usually in the evening when it has been crowded. This was the first time we had gone for lunch and we prefer it. The space is quite tight and in the evening I guess there are 50 covers and you feel hemmed in. But at lunch time there were just a few people and it was a delightful way to enjoy a leisurely lunch.

The food was well flavoured, hot and attractively presented. The service was courteous, helpful and prompt. The prices were fair. It wasn't Locatelli's, but nor were the prices. We thought it compared well with Carluccios, where we eat regularly but have to travel and superior to Jamie's where we ate once and wouldn't bother to go back. GianBiaz is a decent Italian restaurant that is almost on our doorstep and "it does what it says on the tin."

I do agree with one point in the previous critical review. I think the chef could afford to be more adventurous and put on some "specials". I would like to be introduced to Italian dishes that are less well known or unusual. Leaving that aside, we think it is a great place for a pleasant lunch and we will be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GianBiaz Ristorante also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to GianBiaz Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GianBiaz Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.