We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Northampton Central

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Northampton Central
Save
You added Travelodge Northampton Central to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Gold Street, Northampton NN1 1RA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was huge and very clean, the staff were lovely and welcoming, and even wrote a happy birthday note for my partner! We had a wonderful stay, and it was very comfortable. Everything was so close by, including all the shops, and the Royal & Derngate which was the original reason we made the booking. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
15
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One night business trip, handy for the station. Gold St where it's located is a bit run down and you could miss it.
Room was 202, a single with a large en suite which was up 5 stairs which was odd. Basics missing, telephone, if on to ring to order the "Breakfast Box", a tray for the tea, coffee and a bedside table, which was where the chair came in handy.TV choice poor, 17 channels advertised but main terrestrial ones duplicated, one with subtitles one without so that's 10 gone already.
Need the choice of basic freeview surely? Average

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Travelodge is right in the centre of Northampton and was good value for money. The hotel had clearly been fairly recently redecorated and my room was large, clean and comfortable.
The hotel staff were excellent - they always respected my use of the Please do not Disturb sign and would instead leave a note to let me know to contact them if I needed anything. One night I did request an extra tea bag and some milk from the receptionist and was swiftly provided with several teabags and milk cartons in a small bag. The night staff were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently visited for an overnight stay. This Travelodge is housed in the former Grand Hotel in the centre of Northampton. The member of staff who checked me in was friendly and the interior of the hotel, including the rooms that I stayed in, were clean. When arrived in my room the lights took a few minutes to come on. Furthermore, the television failed to work. When I reported this matter to the member of staff on reception, I was moved to another room as she did not know how to make the television work. The room that I was moved to was more spacious. The windows were double glazed and the television and lighting were in working order. However, the television had not been tuned so I was unable to obtain LBC Radio or BBC Radio 4 and The World Service. It seemed as if my bed had been hurriedly made and it was not as comfortable as compared with other Travelodge hotels causing an upper back ache. There was a wall mounted air conditioner in my room and despite pressing the off switch on the control panel it kept switching on again. I finally resorted to climbing on a chair and turning off the device at the mains otherwise my sleep pattern would be disturbed. The hotel is close to the bus and coach station and a short walk to the train station. The hotel is also lift accessible. On arrival I noticed a member staff still cleaning rooms at 4pm. this tells me that there seemed t be a lack of staff available at the hotel. The hotel is also lift accessible. There are no instructions for use on the door swipe cards which are plain white.If I stay in Northampton again I will choose a hotel from the companies predators before deciding to stay here again.

Room Tip: The first thirty minute of Wi-Fi use in a guest's room is free for thirty minutes after signing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great stay helpful friendly staff great value for money! Highly recommended! Room was a great size and very comfortable to stay in! Security staff were also very helpful and friendly! Very close to everything

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ideal for a City Centre visit! Minutes from train station so no taxi required, located just on city centre edges so again no taxi needed and access to many many shops, I was able to get Coffee and all the things I had forgotten to bring!!

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Bed very comfortable, clean and quiet.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Very reasonable price. Stayed for one Sunday night . Very clean in rooms and hallway. On the ground floor there was a slight musty smell near lifts but not on our floor. Bed linen good standard and clean rooms large bathroom spotless. My only complaints the heating system was a bit noisy and the pillows too hard for me personally .. I would recommend .. There's a restaurant close by for breakfast . Parking is in local car parks not too far just need to make sure that you can pay car parking when u need to .. It's free all day Sunday but 3hrs 8am to 6

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Northampton Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Northampton Central

Address: 15 Gold Street, Northampton NN1 1RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Travelodge Northampton Central 1*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Travelodge Northampton Central Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Northampton Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.