We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Flore, Northamptonshire, Northampton NN7 4LP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 27 hotels in Northampton
Spaldwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was put in this hotel because of work. This is what it really is though just a hotel full of business people due to it's locality. Very nice rooms but basic, well stocked bar and very helpful staff. Bit dated but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear blottie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    41
    27
    19
See reviews for
31
24
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. My room had been upgraded but that was the end of the positives. The room was no bigger than an average Premier Inn room. There were no toiletries throughout my stay even though I asked every day for them. The cleaning of the room was poor; with things just moved around a bit each day. The quality of service was friendly but ineffective. Food was poor quality and breakfast was a bit of a lottery but edible.
This hotel is not living up to the HIG brand and is clearly lacking effective management.
There is some work to be done to get this tired hotel firing on all cylinders again. Thee is a good Indian restaurant nearby in Weeden.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear B11boss,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night, as we were attending a wedding function.
Staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were a decent size and clean. Decor was a little dated and the corridor smelled of smoke, but overall it was fine.
We walked ten mins into Flore to a lovely pub called The White Hart, where we had an excellent meal.
Hotel is perfectly fine for a stopover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for work in March 2013 and was very disappointed. When I checked in at 7.30pm the night porter was on duty and acknowledged he had little experience to operate reception. He had no record of my Priority Club status and therefore had given away all the upgrades already. Another PC member querying his lack of hospitality package was told to ask the reception staff in the morning (a bit late then!). I didn't get a hospitality packge either.

My room was tired but clean. Unfortunately the corridor outside was freezing due to the single glazed skylights along it. The room was warm enough thankfully. Bed was fairly hard but OK. The pillow choice Holiday usually offer was lacking and there was no guest comment card. Two pillows were marked as soft and two as firm but all four were in fact firm pillows.

The bar was open plan and full of groups of young males watching the football so I chose room service instead. There was a good choice and it was reasonably priced. Unfortunately there was no drinks list and no confirmation of the tray charge to be found.It appeared to be £2.50 when I checked out, which is reasonable compared to many places. The home made lasagne was indeed home made (although an Italian might struggle to recognise it) but the accompanying salad consisted of some under-dressed leaves that were often wilted and brown at the edsges. The saute potato side dish was excellent and my large glass of wine for £6ish was very acceptable too.

Breakfast however was a disgrace. No-one to check you in or show you to a table. Every table was filthy. There were flasks for self-service hot drinks but no coffee evident, only tea. Both cold and hot buffet items were virtually empty. I had to clear my own table and stuggled to make a breakfast from what was available. One lad then appeared carrying duplicate bottles of the juice already out, but made no attempt to clear up or replenish food items.

I complained on check out and asked them to send in extra staff. The response was "Is it still like that?" suggesting other guests had already complained and nothing had been done. I pointed out that in clearing my own table I had gotten food on my dress but whilst this was considered a "shame" I was not offered a discount on my bill nor payment for my dry cleaning.

This place is tired and service standards are poor but it is selling itself as a full Holiday Inn and charging accordingly. If it was re-branded as an Express and prices reduced accordingly people might find the standards here more acceptable. Personally I would never stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sarah O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the over all dissatisfaction you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-experience service to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel very quiet when we arrived on a Friday for two nights. Had an Executive room. Clean and reasonably spacious but not huge. The bathroom had decent water pressure to the shower. However, the bathroom tiles weren't sealed properly so water would come up between your toes as you walked on the floor which was a bit disconcerting. Note, I forgot to mention this to management. Room was perfectly warm. However, no air con, which may be an issue later in the year if we ever get a summer. Staff were most pleasant and I was recognised at a Priority Club member. The housekeeping staff did a good job on the room but they were a bit noisy outside our door doing other rooms despite the "Do not Disturb" sign. Did not eat at the hotel as had breakfast at the Paddocks Tearoom (very nice)

Room Tip: They seem to have quite a few functions here so ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel (from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I'd just like to thank you all for such a fantastic service.

I had my wedding here, as mentioned by other reviews.

I personally enjoyed every minute of being here, we wanted a budget wedding but got so much more!

We didn't pay alot, but got a lot in return, it made our day and we'll never forget it thank you!

Accomadtion was excellent both nights, food was great for all meals, drinks were priced at an expected rate, the staff were OUTSTANDING! Many thanks to Kim, Claire, Sam and all others. The chefs for our Wedding breakfast created master peices, there was a slight wait but we had booked double the usual amount of guests so we were warned it may be delayed.

I have no complaints and neither does my husband!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel, as it was on the journey to catch a flight from Luton the following day.
The hotel is easy to find and in a quiet location. The rooms are clean and functional, but will need decorating and the bathrooms updating in the near future, on arrival they was a damp smell in the bathroom on entry, but not enough to complain. The food in the bar was fine and at the right price, the staff were good and friendly. I have no major complaints and tghe price for the twin room was reasonable, i would stay again when on a long journey

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear neddyk,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16

Address: High Street, Flore, Northamptonshire, Northampton NN7 4LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the Holiday Inn Northampton-West hotel your home from home in our peaceful village setting just 5 minutes from junction 16 of the M1. There's a friendly atmosphere at the intimate Holiday Inn Northampton-West. Our 53 Guest rooms are spacious and include home comforts like high-speed Internet and power showers. The hotel is set in attractive gardens in the countryside village of Flore, with ample parking and easy access to the M1. We're also just a short drive from Moulton Park and Swan Valley business parks. Holiday Inn Northampton-West has 7 naturally lit meeting rooms with space for 8-120 guests. Help yourself to hot drinks while you work and ask staff to help organise your gala dinner or wedding reception. Indulge your competitive streak with go-kart racing at nearby Whilton Mill Karting tracks. The karts reach top speeds of 70mph and you can enter tournaments to race against your friends. See how the Formula One professionals do it at Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit, 9 miles from Holiday Inn Northampton-West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Northampton West Hotel Northampton
Northampton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct16, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.