We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Silverstone but not happy with room allocation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Northampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Northampton to your Saves list
Hilton Northampton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Collingtree, Northampton NN4 0XW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Silverstone but not happy with room allocation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the Renault World series event at Silverstone. The room was very spacious enough to fit two extra cotbeds for our little ones and all amentities were what we expect at Hiltons. However, the windows and window panes were notably dirty and maybe mouldy so I had to give them a wipe myself before letting the babies lean on them as they love to do. We were satisfied with the stay although we were not happy with our allocation of the room. When we booked for this reservation back in March, we specified that we would be needing two cotbeds for our little ones. When we arrived last week, we were given a room on the second floor and the place has no lift. They could not give us another room as the place was fully booked due to the Renault event. We had to haul the twin buggy up and down the stairs which was a pain with all our lugguage. The staff at the restaurant had been excellent in accommodating our kid's needs. We will stay at this hotel again come next year's world series but we will make sure in our booking that we would need the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate all the feedback we receive so that we can view the hotel from a guest prospective.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the cleanliness found in your room. Can I assure you this is not our normal standard of service and that our housekeeping team have been reminded of the need to check all our windows so that we can avoid this in future. Our reservations team have also been retrained on room allocations so that we are more mindful of people’s needs when allocating rooms. Thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Once again thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Northampton again in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    213
    125
    57
    35
See reviews for
159
131
24
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a weekend where we were visiting silverstone. The hotel was quite close to the track probably about 20 min drive. The buffet breakfast was lovely, great range of hot beakfast and cold items and was served until 11am which was great. Room was nice modern and clean. Parking was free. Overall great value and would stay here again! Restaurant did look expensive but we didnt eat there so couldnt comment on the food there. Check out was 12 noon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate all the feedback we receive so that we can view the hotel from a guest prospective.
We were very pleased to read your comments on the hotel and hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Northampton again in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here for the night prior to attending Mini in the Park at Santa Pod Rececourse.
Therefore it was a great location off the M1 and only 30 minutes from Santa Pod.
Hotel was tired and in need of a revamp but price paid was reflected in this.
Good points - friendly helpful staff
Bad points - set evening meal which was very poor quality. We weren't offered a chance to eat off the A La Carte

Room Tip: Go fro a delux as its worth the bit after
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate the feedback we receive so that we can view the hotel from a guests prospective.
We were pleased to read your feedback on the team however please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing meal in our Restaurant. We share all our feedback with the team and will ensure corrective action is taken. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Once again thank you for your feedback and hope you are able to enjoy another Hilton break in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms and facilites at this hotel are fantastic for this price range. Our room was large with a good size TV, nice bathroom with a nice shower, the swimming pool and spa were great. The hotel breakfast was very good, with a huge selection that even went as far as pancakes, waffles and vegetarian (as well as pork) sausages as well as the usual cooked and cold selections. After coming back late from a restaurant the bar was happy to serve drinks until past midnight. But the hotel doesn't get at 'Excellent' rating from me for two reasons.

With the exception of the lady who checked us in, I found the staff were a bit bored and uninterested. One barman had trouble serving a pint of Boddingtons, during the middle of the day, when the hotel didn't seem busy, we still had to wait about 15 minutes to get a coffee from the cafe and everything made you feel you were asking the Earth - not a normal Hilton experience.

The other problem was the price of drinks, particularly non-alcoholic drinks. A small latte from the cafe, branded as a Costa, was £4.20. That's about £2 more than the same drink in a normal Costa outlet. We orded 2 coca-colas and it came to £6.50. Even the barman did a double take when he rang them through! I really think more people would spend more money if the prices were a bit more reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate all the feedback we receive so that we can view the hotel from a guests prospective and take any necessary corrective action.
We were pleased to read all your feedback on the hotel however please accept my sincere apologies for the issues raised with our prices and your feeling of our team. Can I assure you following your feedback staff have gone thought re training to avoid this happening again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Once again thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Northampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We held a Family Celebration here. As a consequence, as well as the fact that many friends and family travelled some distance, many of us stayed overnight too.
Prior to the function the Staff were fabulous in their assistance to make the day go as well as possible. Nothing was too much trouble.
On arrival, the Staff were very friendly and helpful. Assistance was available as, when and wherever it was required.
The Room itself was excellent. It was extremely clean and well appointed. Indeed it met our needs perfectly.
Being situated adjacent to Junction 15 of the M1, the hotel was ideally located for our guests travelling from different parts of the country.
The Swimming Pool and Spa Area are very relaxing with plenty of loungers upon which to relax and chill out. There is also a small gym.
Breakfast is served Buffet Style, in the Restaurant. This was more than adequate to begin the day and was all to a very good standard.
The Staff from all departments were all very polite and helpful. They all work well together to ensure the guests needs are met to the highest expections.

Room Tip: Great Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your stay with us. We very much appreciate all the review we get of the hotel so that we can view the hotel from a guests prospective.
We were pleased to read all your feedback on the hotel and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Northampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night en route whilst visiting family. Our family room was luxurious and spotlessly clean, with all amenities. We had a fantastic meal in the main restaurant with a dessert that looked like something from a famous chef's restaurant. Would highly recommend for sleep quality, cleanliness, facilities and dining. Great value for money too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your stay with us.
We were very pleased to read your feedback on the hotel and sincerely hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Northampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I was staying in northampton for a work related event and found the hotel to be centrally located and the staff friendly. My room was upgraded for a small fee to a deluxe room which had a large work station in the room. The hotel lacks character so if your looking for a romantic getaway look elsewhere but couldn't fault it for a work trip.

Room Tip: Apply for upgrades in advance on the confirmation email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguest, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Northampton, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Northampton following your recent stay with us.
We were pleased to read your feedback on the hotel and your review of one of our deluxe rooms. Once again thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the Hilton Northampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Kay Jackson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northampton

Address: Collingtree, Northampton NN4 0XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#8 Family Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Northampton 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Northampton hotel adjacent to Junction 15 of the M1 Motorway and only 20 minutes from Silverstone Formula 1 racing circuit. Enjoy the convenient location just ten minutes’ drive from Northampton town center and 20 minutes from Milton Keynes. Billing Aquadrome is 15 minutes’ drive away and London Luton Airport (LTN) is 40 minutes away.Keep fit in the fully equipped Livingwell Health Club or swim laps of the 18-meter indoor pool- the largest pool in Northamptonshire. Dine on international cuisine at the Hilton Northampton hotel's Seasons Restaurant. Relax with a pre-dinner drink in the Court Bar overlooking the central courtyard area and savor a morning coffee in Caffè Cino. All Hilton Northampton hotel accommodations have high-speed internet access. The hotel has 13 meeting rooms for 10-300, a business center and WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northampton Hotel Northampton
Hilton International Northampton
Northampton Hilton International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.