We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient for city centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Northampton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson Northampton to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Street, Northampton NN1 2TA, England (Formerly Northampton Moat House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“convenient for city centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as it was convenient for a work commitment. It was not cheap but it was clean and comfortable. The thing that really irritated me was that I had to pay £10 to park for 2 nights. I understand that given it's location people might be tempted to use the hotel car park as a convenient car park for shoppers, but really is it necessary to charge guests who are paying to stay at the hotel? I accept the cost is minimal but it was nevertheless an annoyance. Breakfast ok, accept that if you are a lone diner you get put in a corner/behind a pillar. The croissants were like cardboard and should not be attempted if you have weak teeth. On my first night I thought I would go into the bar for a glass of wine, but was unable to attract the attention of the bar person who was busy writing and then made a phone call, so I abandoned this and went to my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. This gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. I shared your feedback with our breakfast team to ensure we are offering fresh food at all times to our guests.
In regards to the parking charges, we are right in the middle of the town centre, where charges apply throughout. We do offer a favorable rate to our hotel guests of £5 per night in stead of the regular £12.50 day charge. At this point we have chosen not to include the parking charges in our roomrates, to allow our guests the choice of using the facilities or making alternative arrangements, however we do take your comments on board when reviewing our pricing process in the future.

With kind regards,

Jacqueline Struik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    92
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
22
49
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Comfortable and clean rooms, and rarely any noise from outside the room to disturb your rest. The room is a good size and double glazed ans aircon in the room allows you to regulate the temerature. Breakfast is bog standard fayre and you have to ask if you want any form of egg other than scrambled, However the staff are efficient and obliging, so it is not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you Barry, for taking the time to give us your feedback of your stay with us.

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards from the Park Inn by Radisson Northampton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Northampton gets quite busy and runs short of accommodation - there is usually space here, due to its size. I have stayed several times, and arrived very late, or left very early. The staff have always coped admirably with my funny hours. The hotel is clean and smart, and "international" in its performance. I've never considered any other hotel in Northampton. The breakfasts are good and start quite early; the beds are large and comfortable; the bathrooms in very good condition.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all of equal quality - the higher the better for noise reduction, but there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience and providing us with a good rating on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the team members meet your expectation. We look forward to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Helpful and friendly staff from the minute we stepped in this large and spacious hotel. Rooms clean and functional. Although personally I did feel like I was in a children's nursery with the decor etc. Great shower and good quality towels.
Excellent choice for breakfast, with nothing being too much trouble for the staff.
Good value for money and I would definitely use again if I was in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Susan,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and based on your feedback we are looking to change the decor in near future. We look forward to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel is clean, functional and staff friendly and helpful. Public areas had a bit of a revamp recently which is an improvement - bedrooms are a bit too functional for my liking but would make a good reasonably priced hotel for a business traveller. We only stay here because we attend a black tie function at the hotel otherwise it would not be my type of hotel but the rooms are reasonably priced and because we only crash in the room at the end of the night their lack of appeal doesn't matter to us. Have noticed a few people complaining about paying for car parking - prior to them introducing car parking meters this car park was always full to capacity (mostly with people using it for town centre parking). Now you can always get parked and if you look at the signs properly you will see you DO NOT need to pay for parking if you are resident at the hotel and give them your car registration details!!!! Hope this helps

Room Tip: Rooms higher up get less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Aidensgran,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you have found the hotel reasonably priced and did meet the purpose of your stay. We look forward to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

room clean and tidy. bed was very comfy. we had been upgraded to a business room which was a welcome surprise. the parking is £5 for overnight stays which we didn't know until we got there. very central location. check in and check out was slow, as I booked with last minute. com and the reception staff kept on trying to charge me even though I had paid through lastminute and had an email confirmation which i showed them. other than this little issue, everything else was good.

Room Tip: fifth floor room had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Julie,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We regret to hear about your disappointment with the reception team please be assure that this is not our usual practise and we will ensure that this does not happen again, We are located in the city centre hence our car parking is managed by an external company who charge £12.50 for overnight parking as a Hotel we offer a discounted rate of £5 to our resident guests. I hope that the positives during your stay will convince you to stay with us again and that we will get an opportunity to show we can meet and exceed your expectation.
Kind Regards, Joe Dias Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel and I really couldn't find any fault with it.
Got a good deal on Laterooms.com so was expecting rooms and hotel to be on a par with Premier Inn type rooms but I was delighted to find out it was head and shoulders above in all aspects.
The room was spacious with good hanging space, an ironing board and iron, good tea tray, complimentary bottled water, bathroom toiletries and even a hairdryer. The bathroom and bedroom were both immaculately clean too. The decor was fresh, clean and inviting.
This hotel is in prime position, with Northampton centre being just a few minutes walk away, and yet it's off the main road so the town noise is minimal. We both had a really good nights sleep with no disturbances.
The hotel has a bar which was great, and not over priced as they sometimes can be.
Handily it does have its own car park too, usually £12.50 a day but for hotel customers just £5.. Very reasonable.

All in all I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Northampton, we would definitely stay there again. Well done Radisson !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Northampton, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Helen,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience and rating us with a 5 star on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Inn by Radisson Northampton. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Northampton

Address: Silver Street, Northampton NN1 2TA, England (Formerly Northampton Moat House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Inn by Radisson Northampton 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of the town centre near major business and retail venues, Park Inn by Radisson Northampton provides a convenient location for executives and leisure travellers. As the only full-service hotel in the Northampton town centre and a recently completed extensive and stunning refurbishment to all the public areas, this accommodation offers a modern and welcoming venue to include lounge, bar, restaurant and fitness centre with pool, sauna and steam room. Each guest room features complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, and Business Friendly Rooms offer extra amenities such as breakfast. With conference space to accommodate up to 600 delegates, this Northampton hotel is the place to meet.• Less than one kilometre from the rail and bus stations, this Northampton hotel makes it easy to travel in and around the city.• Guests can choose from 146 comfortable rooms with amenities such a flat-screen, LCD television and in-room safes.• Indulge in a gourmet burger and beer at the hotel’s recently refurbished RBG Bar & Grill.• High-speed, wireless Internet access is provided throughout this Northampton hotel (free basic internet connection).• Innaction Health & Fitness Club boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and solarium.• A beauty therapist is available for patrons who want to unwind and refresh.• Guests and delegates enjoy on-site car park facilities (fees may apply).• Reserve one of the hotel's 12 meeting rooms, featuring audiovisual equipment like LCD projectors. Read more about the hotel's various Responsible Business activities that offset carbon emissions and help the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Northampton Hotel Northampton
Northampton Park Inn
Park Inn Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.