We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox & Hounds - Harlestone

The Fox & Hounds - Harlestone
Harlestone Road | Lower Harlestone, Northampton NN7 4EW , England
+44 1604 821251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 421 Restaurants in Northampton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings, The Fox & Hounds serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have always had exceptional food and service whenever we've dined here - would recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    76
    30
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Food is always great, and the service is good. It is always packed out and is a great family place to meet and have a gathering. Good beers which is a plus for the boys. The girls never seem to complain about the wine. A great pub with great atmosphere. Recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Second visit, much better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was a little hesitant when my lunch companion suggested this pub as my last experience had not been very good. This time I have to say was much improved. The welcome was good and the restaurant as before was pleasant, clean with lovely open fire. The service was attentive and friendly, well timed as we weren't in a hurry. I chose the salmon fish cakes this time, a little more substantial than the scallops with considerably more taste. The accompanying salad was crisp and fresh though I think would be nicer without the orange. My companion had the gammon with green beans, again delicious. The total was very reasonable, all in all a very enjoyable lunch and I would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We called here on our way out of town as the food is really good and it is a very good price. The staff are always helpful and friendly and the service is usually good also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It has a lovely atmosphere. the staff are young and enthusiastic. The menu is reasonably varied and the food is cooked and presented well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Hounds - Harlestone also viewed

Kislingbury, Northampton
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Fox & Hounds - Harlestone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox & Hounds - Harlestone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.