We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

La Pergola
193a Wellingborough Road, Northampton NN1 4EA, England
+44 1604 624466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 394 restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Pergola is a small, traditional Italian restaurant located in the heart of lively Northampton's Wellingborough Road. Our food is freshly cooked to order using only the best quality Italian ingredients and locally sourced top quality meats and vegetables. With its relaxed and intimate atmosphere, it is the ideal setting for any occasion, whether it is a romantic meal for two, a dinner with friends or a lively celebration. We can accommodate parties up to 40 people to suit every budget.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Quite a nice restaurant in a good for restaurant part of town. We were very surprised how quiet it was, given the time of year. The menu wasn't extensive, but with a couple of our party having 'dietary requirements' our needs were willingly met by the staff. Everyone enjoyed the meal, starters, main and desserts, and the bill was ok. Would be happy to go back and take other friends, knowing that it is what it is.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    62
    12
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you like perfect fresh food you need look no further. If you like Spinach and Ricotta Pancakes they do the best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went for dinner on a Tuesday around 7, and the place only had one other couple in it (who soon left as they were looking for pizza!). Decor and layout seemed good, if there was a bit of a lingering paint smell.

The menu was promising, though we found the fixed price one was particularly unimaginative and wasn't offered until we asked. Starters of Calamari and a mixed antipasti we enjoyed, though the bread offering was some stale baguette with a couple of slices of buttered hovis.

Mains were an impressive piece of Monkfish, which was good, together with 'scampi' which was not - soapy tasting and a less than generous portion served with rice. A large portion of roast seasonal veg was ample, if a little out of kilter with the fish dishes.

Service was effective if a little brusque, but then we were the only customers.

Overall a mixed bag - not unpleasant, but too many faults for us to be rushing back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have been frequenting this restaurant for a number of years. It is extremely unfair the negative review that appears on this webiste. The food, staff and ambience are well above the critic remarks made. Food prices and quality La Pergola have it spot on and take into consideration the current financial climate. More support and understanding to this small business should be given and encouraged to remain in business. All our many thanks to Mario, Maria and Manuel from Paul, Nora, Al, Elaine and Sharmaine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visit La Pergola every couple of months or so and can honestly say that we have never had a poor meal. The new menu is excellent, and there are always seasonal specials on offer. If you want "fast food" this is not for you but if you enjoy a relaxed evening in friendly surroundings this restaurant is a gem. I can only assume that the strange earlier post was either mistaken identity, or the act of a jealous competitor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pergola also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.