We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campanile Northampton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campanile Northampton to your Saves list
Hotel Campanile Northampton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction 15, M1 | Loake Close, Grange Park, Northampton NN45FB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Northampton
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fairly newish Hotel, very clean but very noisy! Our room was close to a fire door and I think the number of loud 'slams' I heard each day/night was excessive. Kept me awake at night and I could smell cigarette smoke from somewhere. The walls seemed to be thin as I could hear talking etc in the next room. The window lock was practically hanging off - which I reported but nothing was done. Some of the lights in our room didn't work. Free wi-fi. The TV was modern but only had restricted number of channels and NO RADIO! How was I going to listen to SOTS on Saturday morning? Asked why no radio and was told there were TV channels to watch - I really didn't get the connection???? Boasted (in the literature) of having newspapers but when I asked said 'No'. Room was not prepared for two (only one towel and only one pillow each) and they don't do hand towels at all! Apart from all this, at least they had free parking outside and a small coffee lounge. Didn't try thr Restaurant as 'The Harvester' was on the same complex and cheaper. Next time I will ask for a room away from all the 'comings and goings' with no fire door nearby! At least the price was okay and the location good for the M1 and everyone else who has left a comment seems to think it's okay

Room Tip: Keep away from fire doors without 'soft closures' and if you want quiet then ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaNG, Manager at Hotel Campanile Northampton, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review of the hotel. We are a very proud high end three star hotel and always try our best to operate at 4 start service levels. Hence, I'm rather concerned with your comments about your experience at the hotel.

Let me start by apologising for the above. As for the newspapers, we do have the newspapers available in our lounge and you're more than welcome to sit in our lounge and use that service. Also, you're right in commenting that whilst visiting us next time, you would ask for the room at the end of the corridor. They do tend to be the quietest rooms. We do offer a radio channel in the room but I am sure you understand that we are unable to offer detailed list of radio channels to suit every guest's expectations.

Thanks you once again for choosing us as your preferred hotel. We hope you have a safe trip on all your future travels, and if you find yourself in the Northampton area again in the future, we would love the opportunity to serve you once more.

Warmest regards

Ashish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    74
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
56
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having stopped here a number of times over the past 4 years whilst attending motor bike racing at Silverstone we have always been well looked after by a friendly Campanile team. The rooms are very comfortable with lovely walk in showers on the first and third floors. We always request one of these rooms and they always oblige. Their is a breakfast choice of continental and full English which we usually have to keep us going for the days racing. There is free wifi but it is very intermittent. sitting in reception gets the best signal. We've only eaten in the hotel once for dinner and was disappointed as it seemed to be someone reheating already per-prepared food. It wasn't cooked fresh. As I've spent years in the catering trade I know the difference in fresh and 'ready meals'!! Overall though, the hotel is clean, friendly and welcoming and the staff can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: No fitness or swimming pool. Choose a room on the first on third floor for the walkin showers. Secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampaNG, Manager at Hotel Campanile Northampton, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review of the hotel. We are a very proud high end three star hotel and always try our best to operate at 4 start service levels. Hence, I'm rather concerned with your comments about your experience at the hotel.

Let me start by apologising for the above but also thank you for staying with us on several occasions. It's the repeat business such as yours that makes us successful and the constructive criticism like yours give us an opportunity to continuously improve.

Thanks you once again for choosing us as your preferred hotel. We hope you have a safe trip on all your future travels, and if you find yourself in the Northampton area again in the future, we would love the opportunity to serve you once more.

Warmest regards

Ashish Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel and great value. Budget price but the quality is very high and the hotel is nice and new. Will definitely stay again. Only bad thing is that people can't park properly at this hotel for some reason and end up taking 2 spaces, which can cause limited parking. Not really the hotel's fault though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I probably stay once a week on business. The hotel is great value, the staff are friendly and the food is varied and well presented. The furnishings are modern and wi-fi is free. Clearly some hotels offer more but not at this price, not a chance. Excellent hotel and when in Northampton i dont see why you would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a wet room, unless you prefer a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

.Had a great weekend at the Campanile Hotel Northampton. Such a bargain . The rooms were immaculate, with a flat screen TV, tea, coffee, and biscuits. Comfortable beds. Saturday evening we ate in the Hotel restaurant. Superb menu. The food was outstanding, have recommended the restaurant to my relatives who live not far away. The staff were really helpful. Will definitely stay here again when visiting my relatives. We will also try one of Campanile's other hotels which are dotted around the country

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very easy to find just off the M1, although there isnt much nearby. There is a harvester but we ate at Campanile. Had a lovely evening meal, £15.95 for 3 courses from a set menu or choose freely off their normal menu. Not a huge selection of choice but a good variety. Hubby had lamb skewers to start and steak for main which he said was lovely, I had the buffet starter and leek sausages for main and fondant Chocolate for dessert which was lush!! Drinks are not cheaper, better value to get wine by the bottle.
Rooms were spotless, bedding lovely and clean and crisp.
Much nicer than a travelodge for the same price.
We had the continental buffet breakfast and that was lovely with a nice range to choose from.
So if you are looking for a budget hotel then give this a try

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked direct, which saved us money, for Heritage Weekend in Northampton.
Hotel location a little challenging getting into and out of Northampton with a tangle of roads to negotiate near the hotel. The breakfasts are good (both options) and apart from guests unable to close their doors quietly, a good location with only a distant motorway drone heard (we like to have a window open, though bedrooms are air conditioned). Bedroom walls are a bit thin.
We ate in the restaurant and found it better than average - the evening starter buffet was very good indeed and could be chosen as a main course. Staff all very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campanile Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Northampton

Address: Junction 15, M1 | Loake Close, Grange Park, Northampton NN45FB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
#6 Business Hotel in Northampton
#7 Family Hotel in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campanile Northampton 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BRAND NEW Campanile New Generation hotel located next to Junction 15 on the M1 and three miles away from Northampton Town Centre. It is ideal location for leisure or business. This contemporary hotel caters to all your needs and has a popular restaurant with very sumptuous and extravagant buffet. The restaurant offers popular and mouth-watering dishes such as Duck Confit and Ribeye Steak. The hotel also has FREE WIFI throughout the building for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campanile Northampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Northampton Hotel Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campanile Northampton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.