We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and very cheap great for university business.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunley Conference Centre

Sunley Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunley Conference Centre to your Saves list
Sunley Conference Centre
Broughton Green Lane, Northampton NN2 7AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Northampton B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very convenient and very cheap great for university business.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I booked 1 nights b&b with Sunley as I had an early interview with the university the following morning. The campus location was pretty much spot on for me being stones throw away from the main uni buildings where I needed to be and the secure parking meant no traffic or looking for spaces on the big day, as well as being cheaper than the travelodge up the road.

The rather corporate lobby is staffed by efficient and friendly receptionists who had me checked in in no time. The room itself was clean and spacious with an equally good ensuite bathroom. The decor was rooted firmly in the 80s along with the price but was all in good order with everything working as it should. The bed was very large and very comfortable with good pillows that were soft and pliable, better than some hotels i've stayed in that cost twice as much.

One thing that could be an issue was the room temperature. The room was equipped with a large adjustable radiator which didn't seem to be on. This suited me in any case as I like a cool room to sleep in but I could imagine it being a little too cold for some guests tastes. Also lack of wifi in the rooms is something most budget places have sorted out by now particularly as this venue seems to cater for business clients. There is however free access in the bar and communal cafe area.

Facilities such as the lounge bar had a reasonable selection of ales, lagers and ciders as well as the usual shorts for a decent price. There was a very good selection of bar meals freshly prepared on the premises too.

Although not a holiday spot, Sunley conference centre is perfect if you're in Northampton for a brief stay on business or visiting the university and served my purpose well, providing me with a decent nights sleep before my interview.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
16
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed here on a few occasions and it has allways been clean tidy warm and comfortable place to stay breckfast has allways been superb and I cant fault the service at all perfect for what I needed at the time ive needed it at a reasonable price

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter who was attending an interview at the university. The rooms were small but comfortable. It had the usual features, tv, coffee making facilities and ensuite facilities. The only thing I would say is the walls are very thin and you can hear people coming in and out. The breakfast was good. Overall a good value place to stop. We did drive around the campus in the dark before we found it. The conference centre is the first right as you come onto the campus and it has its own car park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Cant complain too much as I assume my client paid very little for the room however, as stated previous the rooms are very dated. A double bed is two pushed together so you fall down the middle and the rooms are tiny. There is no wifi or hairdryer even though the girl at reception advised us there was...the boy in the groups room however did have one!. The roon was clean enought but lacked any features and the bath was like a shallow paddle pool. Had a quiet sleep but would prefer to not return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed one night,will probably not return.Reception was cold and unfriendly.Room for two had one towel.Partition between rooms very thin.Checkout time of 10.00am too early.On the plus side the parking is good and breakfast ok.But a hotel this is not!Better to pay a bit more and enjoy a late breakfast.Work harder on the welcome and do not group it with proper hotels

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury berkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

average at best. Room is the most basic you could find. Carpets in hallways are tired, worn out and grubby. Bathroom not clean. stayed for 2 nights, towels not changed just left over heated towel rail to dry. Difficult to find as the post code directs to the university main building. Poorly signed and poorly lit. Breakfast is poor and totally self service. Relatively cheap but would suggest that Travelodge is better value for money, unfortunately they were all full.

Room Tip: Not sure - think all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for a few nights when at a conference. The room was great and offered a place to sleep. Pillows need to be renewed though no real support. Breakfast was buffet and was tasty. However, the room was small and had to wait for a table.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunley Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunley Conference Centre

Address: Broughton Green Lane, Northampton NN2 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in landscaped university grounds close to the Northamptonshire countryside, the Centre is less than 20 minutes' drive from the M1. It offers en suite accommodation, free Wi-Fi and free, secure parking.Rooms are comfortably equipped with en suite bathrooms, tea and coffee-making facilities and LCD TVs. Free Wi-Fi is available in the lounge areas.A continental breakfast is provided each day, and the bar stocks a range of bottled real ales, lagers, soft drinks, wines and spirits. The bar also offers a range of informal food, prepared and cooked in our own kitchens using locally sourced ingredients. Last orders for food is currently 8.45pm and the kitchen closes at 9.00pm.The A14 is 25 minutes away by car, while the M6 motorway can be reached in less than a 30-minute drive.Sunley offers a comfortable base for business meetings and exploring the Northamptonshire countryside.Check in from 16h00, Check out at 1000 on day of departure.Free Cancellation if Cancelled by 10am the day before arrivalAll Reservations are subject to a Pre-Auth Credit Check ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunley Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunley Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.