We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Scar Cave

White Scar Cave
1.5 miles from Ingleton, On the B6255 road to Hawes, Yorkshire Dales National Park, England
+44 1524 241 244
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited a cave for the first time and found out I don't like caves, but it's a personal opinion, the guide was excellent and informative and it was priced very well. My wife really enjoyed it so if caves are your thing then you can't go wrong with this one

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    86
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First rate guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited the cave today- four adults and an 11 year old boy.
After being fitted with hard hats we were greeted by John, our guide.
It takes about 90 minutes to go along the cave and back and the commentary from John was first rate. He was knowledgeable about rock formation and the history of the cave.
He pointed out the rocks in the cave that were mentioned in the literature and also showed fossils in the walls.
On the way back we were shown the "budgie" amongst other things.
We were all more than happy with the whole experience. Well worth £8.50 each!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this trip,

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A bit of a rush”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were really looking forward to this cave as last year we visited Ingleborough Cave and loved it. Sadly we were rushed along and the group was so big we couldn't hear the guides comments which meant all the points of interest where passed back by the other members of the group, by the time the info came to the back of the line we had a quick glimpse of what was pointed out and missed more than I care to think. Photography was limited to only on the way in because of the time limit and this was a pity.We felt the tour was just there for making money out of the visitors. The best bit was our arrival at the cavern at the end where the stalactite's were lit by ultraviolet light, that was stunning. Won't be visiting again, which is a shame.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveOfficial, Owner at White Scar Cave, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We understand that some of our visitors would enjoy more time in the cave than the standard tour of ninety minutes. That is why we set aside two or three days each year for visitors who wish to spend several hours appreciating and photographing the cave at their leisure. These days are announced, well in advance, on the events page of the cave's website. Any more than ninety minutes for the standard tour would be too long for many visitors. The tour covers one mile underground, so the average walking speed is only two thirds of a mile per hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shocking attitude of staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited in 2012 to be turned away at 4.02 pm because we were 2 mins late !
They claimed that they sent all the staff home at 4 as there was no one there.
So come 2013. Eleven of us visited , arriving at 3.15. A tour was finishing as we arrived. As there was 11 of us we asked if we could go then rather than wait till 4 o'clock. 4 others were also waiting. Groups go out in15s.
The female was shocked we should make such a request. We asked her to consult with the manager . After a fair amount of huffing and puffing she disappeared.
Arriving back very quickly we were very rudely told its an extra £40 to go early !!!
Hmm, we are paying £100 and they want to surcharge. Must be wonderful to be able to turn business away.
Get in the real world Caves and realise your responsibilities to offer a polite service.
We will not be offering a third opportunity unless we are assured the staff have been removed !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveOfficial, Owner at White Scar Cave, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our final tour of the day starts at 4pm. You arrived without a booking, and without the minimum number of people to be eligible for our group admission rate. We tried to oblige you, by offering either the next standard tour at 4pm, or an earlier tour with your own guide for an additional charge to bring you into line with our minimum group terms. While we were ascertaining what time a guide would become available to take you as a group, you left. That guide would have been available at 3.45pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been to the cave a few times now and each time is as good as the last. Very interesting, very beautiful and great fun. A bit pricey at £9.50 a head, but you get what you pay for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaveOfficial, Owner at White Scar Cave, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, and thank you for visiting the cave again. We have introduced a price promotion for the benefit of our summer 2013 visitors. The adult admission is now £8.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Scar Cave also viewed

Clapham, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Scar Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Scar Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White Scar Cave to your Saves list