We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend, 5 stars!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khao San Rd

Khao San Rd
50-52 Walmgate, York YO1 9TJ, England
01904 635 599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $23 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend, 5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband & I visited Khao San on NYE after booking late on the same day.
The restaurant was bustling with a good, lively atmosphere. The staff were extremely polite & could not do enough to accommodate any request. The food was absolutely delicious & reasonably priced. Service was quick but not rushed. Unfortunately we had to leave earlier than planned (child care issue) & the staff were only too happy to put our remaining meal in a takeaway carton & let us settle the bill quickly.
We will definitely be returning again hopefully in the near future. Excellent all round experience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    97
    23
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The service was excellent and the food was good, but I found that my main course was too salty which ruined what would have been a great meal. It is also more expensive than other Asian restaurants in York, so the ruined main course has put me off spending this again. Shame, as I had high hopes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Best Thai I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We ate here early one Saturday evening but it was still rather busy, I would recommend that you book if wanting to eat here at peak times. I had the red thai curry, which was the best thai meal I've ever had, creamy with a slight kick at the end. My mum had grilled pork shoulder which came with a very hot dip! The food was absolutely brilliant though and I would definitely recommend to eat here at either lunch or an evening if visiting York.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Cosy little Thai restaurant just away from the centre of town a few minutes walk , booking advisable, fairly extensive menu, coded to give you a clue as to how hot and spicey the dish is. There is a good selection of food for those that don't like the heat. Extensive wine list and good selection of beers, staff happy to explain menu to the uninitiated

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We came upon this little Asian Restaurant by chance after we could not get a table in a nearby restaurant, and what a joy it was. We noticed that it was used by local Asians so that was an added incentive. From the moment we entered we were treated like royalty nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The menu included a good choice of meat and fish dishes all with an indication of "hotness". I chose a Beef Red Thai Curry and my partner a King Prawn Green Thai Curry and we shared a Phad Thai. It was delicious, not dry but not too much sauce. All the food was cooked at the back of the Restaurant in full view of the customers.
Drinks were good value.
The facade of the Restaurant is a little "tired" but don't let this put you off it is a little gem and another bonus is that you can park nearby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao San Rd also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Khao San Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao San Rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.