We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earl Grey Tea Rooms

Earl Grey Tea Rooms
13, The Shambles, York, England
01904 654353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #317 of 735 Restaurants in York
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Been here before with a friend and came back with my partner! Had high tea! Very filling, great value for money, quality and service fantastic!! Would recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    56
    17
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I wanted a nice afternoon tea without the inflated prices and this is exactly what I got. You get to the tea rooms through a small shop at the front and there was also an outside area. The food was delicious and plentiful and the service was attentive and friendly. I'd have no hesitation in going back when we're next in York.... infact we'll definately be going back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stopped for lunch, lovely welcome. I had the Yorkshire rarebit and it was fabulous. My wife had a huge mushroom dish and she was full & unable to eat it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKPOOL
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, great food (my husband said it was the best mushroom omelette he'd ever tasted!). Very friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Unbelievably rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Shambles area of York is quaint, interesting and of course, touristy..but I had to do it and go to a tearoom. Too bad I wasted my time and money in The Earl Grey Tearooms. Rude from the moment I arrived, no smiles, staring at me sighing, eye rolling, I should have left immediately.
They say service is bad in London, but these people took the cake! Just because you have a prime location in The Shambles doesn't mean you can get lazy and sloppy...you never know who will walk in.
I mean, just how hard is it to crack a smile? You are in service, be nice to your customers or we shall go elsewhere, like me and hopefully the people who read this. Were you rude to me because of my Canadian accent? You are in a tourist area.
I care not to revist this forgettable establishment, they seem to only want to serve locals with money. Eye rolling? Really? It takes a lot to upset me but the man at the door and a nasty older woman waitress really hit it out of the park. Check your map and find another tearoom. Oh they were rude!
They need to retire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl Grey Tea Rooms also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Earl Grey Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl Grey Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.