We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated relaxed. A great find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe No. 8

Cafe No. 8
8 Gillygate, York YO31 7EQ, England
01904 653074
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 656 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This charming eatery is one of York's best kept secrets. Located just behind the old city walls, Caf�� No 8 has an intimate bistro-style ambience and a delightful hidden, paved garden out the back. The super-cheerful staff and delicious menu have won this restaurant awards and local loyalty, and the caf�� is always buzzing with a laid-back crowd. In the evenings the menu features favourites such as salad with fresh figs, blue cheese and pine nuts served with a blackcurrant and rosemary dressing, and home oak-smoked salmon fillet served with a bubble and squeak cake with a poached egg on top. We also love the vanilla panna cotta with spiced orange and mango salad, and stem ginger ice cream.
Oxfordshire, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Understated relaxed. A great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a great evening at this restaurant. This was a great find. Just outside the city walls. Worth getting away from the centre for. It has the relaxed ambiance of a French bistro. Lovely food. Would definitely go back. Would advise booking as it is a small restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    145
    28
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Great food; upgrade the wine list to match the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate there a couple of times and the food was great as was the service. The only critique is that the food deserves better wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“First choice of restaurant when visiting York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked in advance as we have been disappointed previously when the restaurant was full. All three courses were well received, well presented and cooked. Black pudding to start, we had the lamb three ways, tasty and all the cuts had a lovely texture , Yorkshire Beef plate also well received and the Rhubarb and Custard Meringue with toasted flaked almonds was to die for

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hits the spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived without a reservation just before evening service and spent a few minutes over drinks before ordering. Service was extremely slick and the food was cooked, prepared and presented to perfection. The desserts looked extremely tempting but we were off to see the Illuminating York festival so sadly had to pass on that! This is an excellent little cafe/bistro which certainly hits the spot before heading out to explore York.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“About the best York has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited on a Tuesday evening. Was busy but service was fine.Food was very good. The lamb was great though slightly over seasoned. The quality and value was great and we would return again. We are usually hard to please but this is somewhere we would go back to. Only down side is if you get seated on the bench seats at the front of the restaurant. Isn't great for the back. Next time we will ask to be seated else where when we book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe No. 8 also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe No. 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe No. 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.