We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated well and fed even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Brasserie

Bengal Brasserie
21 Goodramgate, York YO1 7LW, England
01904 640066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #350 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
york
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Treated well and fed even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We haven't been here a while, as we have 3 boys and it costs a fortune to eat out!
Treated ourselves over Easter, booked a table for tea time and were welcomed by our waiter.
Ordered fairly quickly (always known that food isn't rushed here, but we were fine with that).
Great fresh starters and well received by all.
Mains were all half price with a voucher we had, but we did go crazy on the chefs specials. Which were amazing.
On finishing, we all received a free drink from the manager and boys received many chocolates.
£80, so not the cheapest, but we really enjoyed the meals and the service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    16
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Manager didn't want to hear feedback”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The young staff were friendly and attentive, I had to prompt an older guy (turned out to be the manager) to take mine and my wife's order after we had declined two offers for popodoms. The starters were nothing special but then one can't be too critical for £3.25. The curries though were bland, could have easily been made from a jar although both dishes did have loads of large chunks of chicken in. Before leaving I mentioned that the sauces were poor to the manager. I explained I wasn't looking for a reduction on the bill, was just offering feedback. He rambled on about being in the business 40 years and didn't listen. I am a great fan of Indian food but can't recommend this place and won't be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What A Dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited this Restaurant on a night out with friends. When entering and sitting down and looking round the restaurant we realised that we had made a mistake. The decor hasn't been updated or refreshed for at least 10 plus years! Wallpaper ripped, black stains on the ceiling, interior dirty! We have eaten in various Indian restaurants throughout the country and this one is the worst! The food was tasteless, brought out on a dirty old trolley! The food lacked spices and warmth! Very bland and all 4 dishes which were different all looked the same! The lamb was tasteless and stringy! The staff lacked any enthusiasm. This is obviously a failing restaurant where the owner has lost all interest! Shame because in its day (10 plus years ago) it was the place to go... Sadly not now?!?

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Choice for an Indian Meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Feel that some of the previous reviews are over critical especially after our experience. Food was extremely tasty and service was good and reasonably quick considering the venue was full. Portions were generous and inexpensive certainly by todays prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Having an off day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We booked a table mid week as we like to try and sample good restaurants once a week or once a fortnight at the outside. We were met by a grumpy waiter that wasn't looking that smart. Not many people were in there so it may be that the staff were bored. When our food was served it was at the very best, Average! I asked for a Madras and it came with very little spice. I asked if they could get it to a madras type spice for me and it came back on fire.
Not the best eating experience but it could have simply been an off day. I won't be returning to give it another try though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Brasserie also viewed

Nether Poppleton, York
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bengal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.