We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 53 to your Saves list
Hotel 53
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
WINTEROFFER- 10% OFF
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in York
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here on Friday 13th December. Had read past reviews so had a good idea of what to expect. The hotel its self is excellent, clean, modern and in a very good location. Yes the room was a little on the small side but it had everything you would expect and it didn't seem too cramped at all. The room is noisy on a night as mentioned in past reviews. Also, the air con/heating fan blows all night. Not only does this become a little annoying it also makes the air very dry and gave me a bit of a sore throat. I find this is the case with all hotels though.

The staff I encountered were friendly and efficient. All in all I would recommend Hotel 53 and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    377
    217
    99
    41
See reviews for
141
491
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent modern hotel, very convenient for city centre, secure parking although extra. The staff all very pleasant and helpful. Rooms clean with everything you need. No noise problems, but windows closed. Breakfast buffet good, not massive, but everything nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay at Hotel 53. Room small but clean and cosy. Very comfortable bed but as commented on before, windows have open vents that mean you can't block out the traffic sounds. Staff very friendly and professional.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Pros:
Hotel room, bathroom were clean.

Receptions were helpful and friendly.

Location of the hotel was 10minutes walk from centre. About 5minutes away from Tesco/Atms etc...

Cons: Sound on TV was poor.

Having to connect to wifi every few hours.

Guy at reception was unhelpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a simply excellent modern hotel, ideally situated within 10 minutes of York centre (Shambles) . Incredibly clean, well furnished and impeccably managed.
Check in was first class, with a very helpful receptionist who arranged parking for me in the limited parking opposite the hotel, the parking is granted on a 'first come first served' basis.
The room was excellent, with a very well fitted suite of items (hair dryer, trouser press, TV and an immaculate shower)
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the menu, service and food was excellent (and very reasonably priced)
Breakfast was perhaps the best I have seen in a UK Hotel; none of the wafer thin streaky bacon here; all on a hot plate, but the minute the fried eggs get to that rubbery stage, they are removed and replaced with fresh ones). The service during breakfast, was like the rest of the service within the hotel, excellent.
On our last morning, the receptionist arranged for us to retain the parking until 1300 free of charge so that we could end our trip without looking for parking (which in York is extortionate and as our visit coincided with the York St Nicholas' Fair (Christmas Market) at a premium.
First Class and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is very stylish rooms are cosy and the location is superb. The only things I would say that was wrong was the noise from outside the hotel was horrendous as the windows weren't sealed properly with the vents and also the heaters weren't that great even on full it still wasnt that warm. Would recommend tho for price

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We only booked a week in advance and were undecided which hotel to choose. We knew we only wanted a base and didn't plan on staying in the room for long. The room whilst not being overly spacious (had a king-size bed) was clean, bedding/towels top quality, very comfy bed, shower powerful and no problems with hot water. The buffet breakfast (which is a bit pricey for York at £10.95 if you don't pre-pay) was spot on. Housekeeping were attentive, all staff friendly and helpful especially Emma. It's only a 5 minute walk to town - perfectly placed for museum and Clifford's Mount. Great pub even nearer -within 2 minutes walk (Mason's Arms). Very pleased we chose Hotel 53 and would do so again. Only given 4* as I couldn't get connected to W-Fi at all during stay but connected within seconds across the road in The Masons Arms! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 53, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.