We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but a Few Negatives” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 53 to your Saves list
Hotel 53
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
WINTEROFFER- 10% OFF
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in York
Leigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Location but a Few Negatives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in Hotel 53 for a decent price on a Friday night. The location is excellent, just a 5 minute walk from the centre. We park on the Peel Street car park at the back of the hotel which is less secure but it costs just £9 for 24 hours. The hotel charge £10 for their own car park and you have to leave the car park at checkout so if you don't want to leave York at 11am, you then have to pay to park somewhere else anyway.

The room itself was small. The bed was creaky and uncomfortable. The sink was a little bit grubby but overall the room and bathroom were fairly clean. The view outside was a brick wall which meant it was very dark and we needed the lights on in the middle of the day. It was very noisy throughout the day and night in the room. People were loud outside at night but that's to be expected in a city central hotel on a Friday night. There was also a lot of noise above our room of things being wheeled about and a lot of banging until about 10.30pm. Not sure what that was. Then there was a lot of noise outside early in the morning from things being wheeled around.

The worst thing about our stay was the fact that they take a £30 frozen deposit which they give you back when the room is checked, even though I'm still waiting 4 days later. I don't find this fair at all as I ended up with £30 less money to spend during my stay and now have no money to spend at all while I'm waiting. I've never come across this before in a hotel and I've stayed in quite a few so I don't see why Hotel 53 feel they have the right to take it. It's ok them saying "don't worry, you get it back" but for some people, £30 taken for a few days is a problem. This would put me off staying there in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    378
    217
    100
    41
See reviews for
142
493
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stopped in the hotel for a visit to York with the Mrs and kids. The staff were helpful and the hotel looks modern and clean. The rooms were the same although I have never stopped in a room with no bedside cabinets or wardrobes. Instead there was an open rail to hang clothes on and I left my phone on the floor next to the bed.

The room was very narrow which is why I assume they did not put furniture in it? Also, who chose the corridor carpet? It gave me a headache.

The location is good in central York and easy to walk to the restaurants, bars and visitor attractions. There is a car park opposite with parking for guests at a £10 charge for 24 hours we parked there.

The breakfast was good and plenty to go at. Price of the hotel was not that fantastic but for location and quality it is a reasonable option for central York. Would I go again? Yes a definite option.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the hotel room only as reading other reviews we knew there was a weatherspoons opposite, which was excellent value also for breakfast. The hotel staff were very quick and showed excellent customer service skills. They were very helpful giving us advise where to eat out and providing directions to locations. Car parking was good value for money £10 per day in comparison to other car park sites. Hotel room was clean, spacious. only negative would be no bath, a shower only. But i am sure if we requested a room with a bath, they would of looked after us. All in all we would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hotel 53 - we stayed overnight as we had tickets to see Bryan Ferry 14th November at the Barbican. Hotel 53 close to the Barbican and a great location and easy to walk to all different locations within York. Lovely glass entrance, efficient reception and good seated area with small bar and toilet facilities. Check in swift. Good secure storage area to leave luggage if you check in early as we did then we returned to collect our key 3.30pm. Digital lift next to reception and we were the fourth floor - Room 411 Double Room and booked bed and breakfast. Good sized room with large comfy bed great walk in shower. Coffee making facilities. Great tv and easy to watch in bed. Slight noise from above and next door but not disappointed with the room nor Hotel. We will return again and good to know what a great place Hotel 53 is to stay in. Wished we'd stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 411 double room with good large walk in shower which had a side view. Maybe noisy if your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The staff were welcoming and friendly (with the exception of one bar tender, who was a bit curt). The hotel was modern, very clean and comfortable, rooms good with very large beds, everything you need, tea, coffee, biscuits, lovely big shower with shampoo, shower gel etc. Would not be termed as a 'boutique hotel' but much, much better than a travel lodge type, which would be a similar price. The location is great being just a short walk into the main shopping area, the castle close by etc. Breakfast good, buffet style, very busy the first morning we were there, had to queue a little bit for the self-service toast, but no problem really as it means you get nice hot toast. Offered lots of refills of tea/coffee. Have stayed at another hotel in York which is more expensive, but this is definitely the better option and will use it again if the need arises.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night (16 Nov 2013) as a family of four, in a family room. I had been concerned after some of the comments on Tripadvisor but need not have worried. The staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is modern, and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had one enormous bed (super-king size, easily), which was very comfortable, and a large sofa bed for the kids. Breakfast was perfectly fine. There is a little noise from the street but that is to be expected from a city-centre hotel. The location is really excellent for seing the sights of York on foot - only about 5 minutes walk to Jorvik. There is a carpark right across the street too which is really handy. It was also good value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staff at this hotel were welcoming and very efficient. After checking in we only had one set of towels between the two of us but this was rectified straight away. The bed in the room was large and very comfortable, the room nicely decorated and of good size. We didn't use any of the facilities at the hotel e.g the bar or the restaurant however, the other guests we saw there seemed to be enjoying it. The hotel is a short walk from the center and very close to all the attractions. Particularly the Barbican center and Clifford's Tower/Castle Museum.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and I would certainly recommend. The only negative we had was disturbance from outside the hotel in the early hours but this is something out of the hotel's control. Just something to be aware of if you are looking for a hotel primarily to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 53, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.