We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top knotch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 53

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 53 to your Saves list
Hotel 53
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% Discount, Book Direct
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in York
1 review
“Top knotch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here the thursday before good friday and paid £60 for one night so we wernt expecting much. Arrived and the staff were really friendly and the whole hotel reception /bar looked really clean and modern and so were the rooms.

The hotel is in a brilliant location, easy to find and a short walk to the main bar/shop area.

Considering I was going to pay an extra 7 quid for a room in the travel lodge aacross the road I think we found a bargin.

If only they had more hotels across britain......

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    426
    226
    101
    46
See reviews for
158
541
39
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel 53 last week on the mid week special. My husband had stayed there before on business so we knew it was ok

The location is brilliant just a few minutes walk from the centre. Our room was on the first floor and was nice and clean and bright. Bed was comfy and plenty of tea and coffee provided. Everything that was needed for an overnight stay was there. It was a freezing day but the room was nice and warm as a heater was provided.

All the staff were extremely helpful and we used their car parking facilities across the road for £10 for 24 hours which was great

I can't comment on the restaurant facilities as we didn't use them. We took breakfast at Wetherspoons directly opposite which is open from 7am.

We would certainly stay again on our next trip to York

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Hotel 53 for the second time, having found it so convenient to enjoy York previously.

The hotel staff were welcoming & pleasant. The room wasn't ready on our arrival but we didn't have to wait too long for it. We had a room booked with a cot & the staff made a point of checking this was in the room & ready for use before giving us the key, which I found a nice touch having chased round after a cot in other hotels!

Our room was clean & large with a great view over York.

The hotel is in easy walking distance of the centre which is useful with a little one & we could just leave the car in the car park at a reasonable price for a city.

Breakfast was included with the deal & was very good.

Another great stay at this hotel & I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed at this hotel at the weekend, really lovely, great location, lovely Weatherspoon's over the road, car parking great, rooms nicely furnished. Lovely comfy beds, walls quite thin but didnt spoil our stay at all, lovely bar/reception area, restaurant looked really nice too

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Was very pleased with our stay at hotel53. Everything ran smoothly, staff were friendly and the room was lovely and clean. Location was great and breakfast had a good selection. Worth the price indeed and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just the one night for a short weekend in York. Booked from the website at a reasonable rate for a Friday night. Check In was at 3 pm but we chanced it at about 1.30pm so we could park the car and forget about it. Yep the room was available so a quick check In and a £10 parking charge. Great value in York.
The room was clean, small but functional except for the road noise. Soon realised the window was broken and would not close properly. A quick call to reception and someone arrived in minutes. He tried to fix it but quickly realised he couldn't. Phone call to reception and a change of room. No problem and very well handled. Fair play to them.

Bonus!! a bigger room and bigger bed, very clean and comfortable.

One small minus point the toilet seemed heavily cracked and didn't give a lot of confidence. Apart from that the room was more than adequate for our stay.

Think we may have been unlucky with the family of 6 kids on the same floor that were .... Shall we say, Loud when going to bed. Thankfully only lasted 10 minutes but enough to wake us. Not the hotel's fault to be honest.

Breakfast had enough choice to set you up for the day. Nothing amazing but for £10 per person it was ok.

Wetherspoons is literally 10 yards across the street if you don't choose the breakfast option. Also very reasonable drinks in a bustling bar

All in all a cheap one nighter in a usually expensive York. Would use again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend after a last minute trip to York. Reception staff are very helpful. The room was ready before the stated check in time. There is a secure car park straight in front of the hotel. There's a £10 surcharge for this. The room itself wasn't huge but for an overnight stay it was fine. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. The bathroom was also very clean and functional. All in all very good value. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO19PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 53, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.