We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York Weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
18 Goodramgate, York YO1 7LG, England
01904628869
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Royal Oak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #150 of 656 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: English, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Royal Oak is a seventeenth century inn situated two minutes walk from York minster. The original building dates back to Tudor times and boasts a fine, Tudor beamed, free function room on the first floor.The building has recently undergone a massive refurbishment, sympathetic to its history.The menu is locally sourced, traditional British cuisine freshly cooked to a very high standard.As a Cask Marque accredited inn, the Oak has six perfectly kept cask ales, Timmy Taylor's Landlord, Old Perculier, Abbot Ale, Leeds Pale, Copper Dragon Best and Yorkshire Terrier.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“York Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Happened to find this pub on way back from Richard 3rd museum. Only stopped off for a few drinks but instantly loved the feel of this pub. Bar staff and manager very friendly and helpful in choosing which beer to have. Sat in the snug and could have stayed there for hours it was really lovely. Didn't have any food but couple sitting next to us said it was delicious. Best pint all weekend and we had lots !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    83
    25
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Tyneside
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat that would satisfy two tired, hungry children and two tired, hungry adults we chanced upon the Royal Oak.

The Snug had recently been vacated and we were welcomed by a lovely, friendly gentleman who promptly cleared the debris from the previous diners, brought us menus and took our drinks orders.

Husband and I ordered the battered haddock, chips and mushy peas (£11.95), although we were both tempted by the pie of the day with mash/veg (£8.95) and the children had chicken goujons (eldest son had his with mashed potato and beans, youngest had chips and peas) - these were free as we'd ordered two adult main courses. Cordial for the kids, Coca Cola for the adults and the total bill came to £29.30.

Food arrived quickly, hot, good size portion, tasty and served in an attractive manner.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, service was excellent and the building itself was beautiful (checked out the beamed function room en route to use toilets)...

Definitely recommend and will hopefully return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We called into this pub for a drink, saw steak on the menu and decided to book a table for the next evening at 18.30, we were asked where we would like to sit and the table was booked. The following evening we arrived for our meal early at 18.00 to be told our table had changed due to a table of 10 being booked, we explained we would have finished by the time they arrived at 20.30 or failing that we will go elsewhere, we were seated at our original table. We both ordered steak, I requested more salad as I am not a chip lover, the meal arrived, the 'salad' was literally just salad leaves and no extra for me, the steak was nice but not worth15.95, but the 'sauces' we're terrible priced at 1.95 my 'Diane' sauce tasted like tinned chicken soup,my partners peppercorn sauce consisted of hard black peppercorns.......not how I was taught to make sauces when I was a chef.We expressed our concerns to the lovely young waitress, although none of this was her fault. We did get 7 pounds deducted from the bill, but after so looking forward to a nice meal we were very disappointed, would rather have paid the full amount to have a nice meal, will never return. I would like to say it is very rare we ever complain the steak was nice, decent quality but not worth the money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Drinks, Friends and 'The Snug!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Six friends and I wandered into The Royal Oak looking for somewhere to sit, chat and have a drink. We sat in a little room aptly named, 'The Snug.' The staff were friendly and after ordering the drinks at the bar they brought the drinks through for us. It was perfect, delicious ales and pleasant conversation in delightful surroundings. We will definitely be visiting again on our return to York and with any luck we can sit in The Snug again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good beer and live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We checked ahead on the web to be told there was no entertainment planned for the night and a review said the owner was a slave-driver. Both of these things proved wrong. It's a great small pub with rooms all over the place. We were politely asked to move seats as a band were playing (so there was entertainment - might want to keep the website updated). Just before the set began a young woman came in to ask for directions to the train station. A man told her where to go and as she thanked him and turned to leave she knocked over a table of drinks. Although she apologised, she left without even offering to pay for them! How rude!! However the landlord made good the mess and got in the round - not like a slave-driver at all. Would recommend this pub highly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.